We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lafayette
Nearby Hotels
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Marietta Hotel(Marietta)(Great Value!)
$69
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Marietta(Marietta)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
91
128
21
18
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
128
21
18
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverroom restaurantthe penthousetraditional breakfastantique furniturerooftop bargrand old hotellots of characterlove historystep back in timecomedy clubwithin walking distanceriver view roommodern conveniencesold world feeldelta queenbrewing co
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 289 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My daughter purchased us a weekend get away stay at this hotel, complete with meals in the hotel restaurant. From check in to check out, it was a fiasco. No staff member gave us the same information. We were told by two different staff members we couldn't get our meals there then we were told we could; the morning following our first night stay, a cleaning lady told us we weren't booked for another night (with a desk clerk reiterated this comment ) but (you guessed it) the front desk manager said it was a mistake..and so on and so on. Needless to say, with arguments from staff members less than 12 hours apart, we packed up and left. The sad part is that the hotel is beautiful but perhaps upper management should step in and clean up their staff to ensure quality customer service and guests happiness during their stay. We will NEVER go back to the Lafayette Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herenohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Lafayette 7/11. We went for the history of the place. Granted it is an old hotel, but the owners could attempt to make an effort at improvements: reupholster the chairs in our room that were thread bare/worn. Or was that an attempt at atmosphere. The bathroom was clean, but what is w the 1950's tub yuk pink? If you want period try a claw foot tub. The shower head aimed at my belly button and seemed to be a last minute thought to install as the faucet was on one wall and the shower head on the opposite wall. Major updating is recommended. Lets not forget the king mattress or was that thing concrete? My back and neck are still in pain. I think the mattress also dates back to the 50's. Bring your own mattress topper perhaps. The air conditioner was window mounted. Come one guys get w the times on the amenities increasing the customer comfort. This was room 404 w a view of the river. We also ate at the Gun room at the hotel. The steak was tough w plenty of gristle and no flavor. I think they boiled it and then added the grill marks. I suggest grilling the steaks at 500 degrees F guys. Maybe a little salt and pepper too. The assorted platter appetizers were the best out of the whole thing. Basically get a good electrician, a plumber and HVAC person, new mattress/bedding, new upholstered chairs and get a better cook or send the one you have to cooking school. Fenton is out of business, who is next. I will not be returning and if I do I will go down the road to a more comfortable hotel. But you do have the best house keepers, very clean hotel. I liked the Fenton lamps in the lobby. Good parking too.

Room Tip: Check the room first before you pay. If you don't like the bed or bathroom go find another place. The Lafayette is not worth the pain.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happysue1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Wall air conditioners, damp sheets due to humidity and single pane windows, nesting birds that wake up at 5:30 am, and spring beds that move more than water beds were the negatives. Service, history, architecture and location help make it palettable.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaux1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is in the downtown area, right on the Ohio RIver and one half block from Muskingham River. Hotel has very nice lobby and a nice large bar area which overlooks the river. Hotel is old and some rooms are small, but room price is very reasonable and comes with simple breakfast (or $5 off full breakfast) in there restaurant. Unfortunately, the web site was not working properly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OlderEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Nice old hotel with a lot of character and friendly staff. It's right on the Ohio River, and our room had a good view. It has a beautiful old bar with windows that look out on the river. Food was a little pricey, but good fettucine alfredo.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxdaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews