We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel by the River
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Marietta
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice & Friendly”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My family and I had a mini-family reunion and stayed here. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Between my cousins, uncle and I, there were 6 dogs. There is a wonderfully large side yard going down to the river to walk the dogs. The rooms were clean and nice. We stayed in non-smoking rooms and there was no smell of smoke. Wonderful, fresh continental breakfast. All the food was fresh. It's close to restaurants and site-seeing places. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms with only one double bed do not face the river. They are on the front side of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioCarolinaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stopped here in the middle of the night looking for a room to some rest in with our family. I was very pleasantly surprised to come across this hotel. The room was clean and nice, staff very friendly and helpful, nicely stocked continental breakfast, located in a nice quiet location close to town and it's historical attractions. we will be looking for this one on our next family vacation heading to North Carolina.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 1-2 times a summer on our way to and from Michigan from from North Carolina. Although the other guests are occasionally noisy and smoky, the rooms are always clean, the owners always polite and helpful, and the property well maintained. We stay here for the location on the river with the big rolling hill for the kids and the dog to run and play after a long day in the car.

On our most recent stay, my 13 year old son left his ipad (yes, left his ipad) in the room. He did not realize it until the day AFTER we checked out. I had no hope, but called anyway. Not only did they have the ipad, but they held it for us until our return trip 2 weeks later. WOW. It restored my faith in humanity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellomelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at the Magnuson on the way to NC. We were traveling with our dog and this hotel had good reviews. The room was very clean and quiet. Our only problem was the lady at the front desk the night we checked in. We were given a room on the 2nd floor and with having a puppy it was inconvienent. We asked for a first floor room and were told NO. After looking at the parking lot at night and in the morning was 1/2 full. Also, she came running out to the car after we had checked in to get the $5 dog fee. She was not very friendly.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a dog be sure to ask for a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaSGrandRapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisville , WV
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I reserved a room at this hotel even though some of the reviews were not very good. I found the Magnuson an excellent place at any price. The room was immaculate, furnishings like new, very comfortable bed with Egyptian cotton linens (oh so soft), fresh clean air not smelling of room deoderizer and heating/cooling system so quiet that I was not sure when it was operating. The front desk personnel were very accomodating and the lobby was inviting.
I had an overnight stay due to early morning out paitent surgery at Marietta Memorial Hospital which is minuets away from the hotel.

Room Tip: My room was in the back of the hotel and very quiet. It was on the first floor and I did not hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraD285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My family & I have been staying at this hotel almost every Fall for over 30 years. It has been owned and managed by the same family in all that time. Everyone connected with the facility is just as friendly and helpful as can be. The rooms are always exceptionally clean and well cared for. The desk person has always been very helpful in suggesting things to do in Marietta and Washington County. We come back because the place feels like a home away from home to us. Marietta and the Magnuson are tops with us!.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in were very clean. They had air conditioning and or heat as needed. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardDrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We went to this hotel because it sounded wonderful. However, when we got there the room was terrible. No A/C unit expect for a small window unit covered in mold. The bathroom you could not move in and spider webs were everywhere. This was enough to make my allegies go crazy, so we left. The price of the room was almost $100.00 and that is crazy. It is totally a $19.95 dollar a night hotel.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel unless you are not afraid of spiders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ames_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marietta hotels
1.9 mi away
The Lafayette
The Lafayette
#6 of 11 in Marietta
248 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Marietta
Comfort Suites Marietta
#3 of 11 in Marietta
178 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Marietta
Hampton Inn Marietta
#1 of 11 in Marietta
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marietta
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marietta
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Marietta
Red Roof Inn Marietta
#8 of 11 in Marietta
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel by the River

Property: Magnuson Hotel by the River
Address: 279 Muskingum Dr, Marietta, OH 45750-1407
Location: United States > Ohio > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel by the River 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is just minutes from the Marietta Memorial Hospital, Marietta College, Indian Acres Park, the Ohio River Museum, and Children’s Toy and Doll Museum. Guest will enjoy continental breakfast each morning, free wireless internet, free parking, access to the YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marietta
Marietta Best Western
Magnuson Hotel By The River Marietta, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing