We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River cruise”
Review of Valley Gem

Valley Gem
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“River cruise”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Very nice peaceful, relaxing cruise down the Muskingum to the Ohio River and back. Captain narrative was really good, although it didn't last the whole cruise. Would have been nice if once he was done talking maybe some music from the time that the sternwheeler would have been running would have added to it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cathyr589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“second time to take a trip”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have taken two trips on the Valley Gem. Once, about ten or more years ago and one Aug. 2014. Both time we enjoyed the relaxing pace of the cruise and the narration too. Each cruise took us to a different part of one of the rivers, one seeing the locks and the other the wildlife island reserve. Its a nice way to add a bit of history, nature and relaxation to your visit to Marietta.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lifeartist59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“42 diners and cruisers”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I recently took a group of 42 ladies to Marietta. With the help of Shannon at the Washington County Travel and Tourism, I booked this trip. I thought the price was very reasonable and the food was good... We arranged for the Captains Buffet which was Prime Rib and Chicken Marsala and several sides and salad. It was a private cruise and the ladies were impressed enjoyed the Captains story of how the business was started by his father. We enjoyed the scenery along the Ohio River... I notice that some of the reviewers say it was boring but, it was a time to relax and socialize for us and to be on the water. We could have cruised the Muskingum River too... but chose the Ohio.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsbeachbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kids will be kids...”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We experienced the same boat trip as bcbcbc reviewer.
We, too, sat near where they sat.
However, although we couldn't hear all the captain had to say, we heard some of the great story!
We enjoyed the kids, too. Our own grandgirls joined in the spray of the water of the Valley Gem.
They enjoyed steering this great boat on the return trip. The smiles they wore were priceless.
We enjoyed seeing the gardens planted alongside the river on the return trip.
We could see our hotel, The Lafayette, from our seats.
We saw this lovely town through our grandgirls eyes...fun!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's a boat ride”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a nice 1 1/2 hour ride and the bar was average. There's not much to see so it's not real exciting. They talk about Marietta for the first 20 to 30 minutes which we enjoyed and then for the rest of the ride you just see trees on the riverbank and your informative part of the tour is over. It's nice but kind of boring. Once was definitely enough.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank t777jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Gem also viewed

 

Been to Valley Gem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing