We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected and somewhat disappointed”
Review of Ohio River Museum

Ohio River Museum
Ranked #5 of 24 things to do in Marietta
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
381 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Not what I expected and somewhat disappointed”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Ohio River Museum is basically filled with numerous models of historic sternwheelers that once cruised up and down the Ohio River. The models are unbelievably detailed and fun to look at. However, some of the lighting is do dim in parts of the museum containing display cases, it was extremely hard to read any of the information contained therein. Then we went outside to have an escorted tour of the W. P. Snyder Jr., a steam powered sternwheeler. Unfortunately, our escort was boring and not highly informative. One of the other visitors had to explain to his children the mechanics of how a steam engine powers the big paddle wheel. Something the tour guide should have done but failed to explain. This boat is in bad shape and desperately needs some more financial aid to help restore it. Furthermore, if you are physically unable to handle steep stairs, steps, ladders, etc., don’t even try to tour this old relic. The Ohio River Museum and The Campus Martius Museum have admission charges. An adult admission for only one museum is $7, but if you want to tour both museums that day, the admission price is $9 total for both museums. I would have been unhappy if I had paid the full admission price for just the Ohio River Museum. In spite of other reviews that were very favorable, we were disappointed in the museum. In contrast, we first visited the “sister” museum, The Campus Martius Museum, and were highly impressed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BionicOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

After the Martius Campus, you'll want to visit this museum as well. It has all the history you would expect on boating and ships running on the river. Excellent displays.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE COD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“UNIQUE”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a cool little museum snuggled along the Muskingham River. The museum offers a history of the transportation vessels used along the Ohio river over the last couple of centuries. It is reasonably priced and is enjoyable. There are plenty of models of steam boats and sternwheelers. The two times that I have been to the museum, they had reenactors throughout the grounds. We were able to converse with Mark Twain and learn more about the river and the sternwheelers. Outside of the museum is a real sternwheel boat which you can tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phineasKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“River History”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

For all those that are interested in the Muskingum and Ohio Rivers, the Sternwheelers that traveled up and down the rivers, and the wildlife, this museum is a place for you. Tons of pictures and artifacts are distributed through 4 building and you can also take a tour of the J.P. Snyder (Sternwheeler).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank docswife88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A mandatory stop when in the area”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

One way to rate an attraction is to set a range of how far away you can be before feeling obligated to make the trip there. If you are two hours away from the "world's largest ball of twine" attraction, do you make the effort to go see it? In the case of the Ohio River Museum, I think a range of an hour is about right. If you are a fan of river boats, a native of Ohio, or a big history buff, I would push the range out to about two hours. The in-depth tour of the towboat W.P. Snyder, Jr. is worth the effort by itself.
Note that the boat tour involves some steep, challenging stairways. Keep that in mind if you have little kids (under 5) or older guests that might find such things challenging.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohio River Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ohio River Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing