We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Charm!!!!!!!!!”
Review of The Hackett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hackett Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Marietta B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I take frequent overnight motorcycle trips down to southern Ohio and have stayed in several hotels in Athens, Marietta, and Parkersburg. The Hackett is now our new go to place. The hotel is really nice and very unique. Our room was beautiful with modern amenities but with a historical flair. The bathroom is super nice, new and clean. The space had great 12 ft. ceilings and the bed was very comfortable. Came with a Samsung flat screen.

The common area is just really cool. Again modern with charm. Fridge was fully stocked with water, juices and pop (soda). Also had some coffee, snacks and fruit. This hotel would be really great with multiple guests on the same excursion. I can see why the bachelorette party in another review would enjoy it so much.

When I was booking the room, I was a bit concerned that the nightclub below would be loud and keep us up but we didn’t hear a thing! It was very quiet.

We also ate at the Galley and the food was fabulous. I had the filet and my husband had the strip and they were both really delicious and fairly priced. They had a nice selection of beer on draft and we did two samplers (5 each) so we could try out some different beers.

Finally, who knew Marietta could be so cute? We took a walk around the town and it was really quite a neat place. I had always stayed on the other side of Marietta (circa 1970s I think) and was so unimpressed. I had no idea that this area was so inviting.

Love this place. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nahum Ward room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

A little late getting this review out, but better late than never!

Stayed here over night for a mini college reunion with some college friends. Wow! So impressed! Right in the middle of town. Walking distance to the college and Front Street (restaurants, bars, Rivers, bridge to Hamar, shops). Our room was huge (stayed in the Hildreth Room)! Loved the high ceiling, window that opens and big bathroom and that it was very clean. The hotel had a nice sitting area where a couch and big screen TV and a kitchenette that has a refrigerator, coffee, cups, plates, etc. Downstairs was the Galley Restaurant and Bar. Free Parking... it was across the street but we parked in the the lot by the hotel and nothing happened.

Staff was super nice. Walked us up, showed us around and the cleaning lady was super helpful and let us peak into the other rooms - the Riley Room was AMAZING! Would totally stay here again and would recommend to anyone heading to beautiful Marietta! Would be a GREAT place for parents or alums heading down to Marietta College. Wish this place was around when I was at Marietta College!

Room Tip: Be warned - when a band is playing next door at the Adelphia, it can get loud. I was out late, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockinjla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Husband and I stayed one night. This is a small hotel above a downtown bar and restaurant - half a block to Front St. The room was large and had a seating area consisting of a sofa bed and two large easy chairs. Nice bathroom. Decor is sort of an Old English and modern combo, fairly dark. Everything is new. Mattress was very comfortable. Didn't care for the pillows, but they were adequate. We were comfortable and the place was dead quiet. Only downside is that there is no elevator and you must climb 2 flights of steep narrow stairs. We will definitely overnight here again, but will never try to lug a large suitcase up and down those stairs.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank topsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I needed to get away for a night, and decided to go somewhere new, so we picked Marietta. Fortunately, we found one review online for this hotel and ended up making a reservation. This hotel was perfect for our little get-away! The reservation process was easy, and we were met by the manager when we arrived. Check-in is done through the restaurant on the main floor, and the manager was kind enough to give us a tour of this three-story hotel. Since we arrived early and our room was not ready, the manager gave us directions to the local area, his business card, and took my cell number. He called as soon as the room was ready.

The rooms are spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable, and the "living room" area upstairs near the hotel rooms was a nice place if you wanted to relax, watch TV, or grab a snack or drink from the complementary offerings.

We walked around town - everything is close by, then came back for dinner in their restaurant. Drinks and the food were outstanding - the filet mignon was done to absolute perfection. Prices were very reasonable - and even better, we were seated on the side where a live band was playing. Dinner, entertainment, and a wonderful hotel room all under one roof.

I would not hesitate to stay here again, and highly recommend it. Only possible drawback is if someone has trouble with stairs - there are two steep flights to get up to the rooms. Not a problem for us, but could be an issue for others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pickatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Hackett, located above the Galley restaurant in Marietta is simply beautiful. The employees, especially the housekeeper, were some of the friendliest and most hospitable hotel employees I have ever had contact with. The common room is decorated very tastefully and is stocked with all kinds of snacks to munch on, as well as free coffee via Keurig. The rooms themselves were very spacious and beautiful--blending modernity with historic taste perfectly. The beds were VERY comfortable and the sheets were the softest and best smelling sheets I have ever slept on! I would recommend!! One warning, there is a flight of VERY steep steps that may bother some people with disabilities. Other than that, everything is fabulous.

Room Tip: As for the Williams room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmsgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marietta
0.2 mi away
The Lafayette
The Lafayette
#6 of 11 in Marietta
282 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Blennerhassett Hotel
The Blennerhassett Hotel
#2 of 11 in Parkersburg
619 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Marietta-Parkersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marietta
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marietta
Hampton Inn Marietta
#3 of 11 in Marietta
434 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Marietta
Red Roof Inn Marietta
#8 of 11 in Marietta
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hackett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hackett Hotel

Address: 203 2nd St, Marietta, OH 45750-2916
Location: United States > Ohio > Marietta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hackett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hackett offers a unique hotel experience in the heart of historic Marietta, Ohio. Built in 1890, The Hackett is a completely renovated 5-room boutique hotel with classically chic decor and modern amenities. The Confluence is a common area which offers a kitchenette, snacks, beverages, meeting areas, and entertainment for all guests. Rooms are decorated in an antique-chic method with modern furnishings and historic details. Most rooms have a queen-size pull out couch as well. All of the rooms are named to pay homage to influential figures in Marietta's past. Located above The Galley restaurant and the Adelphia Music Hall, we offer room service during The Galley's operating hours as well as access to the finest dining in town. Plus, The Adelphia boasts live entertainment every weekend. All of the rooms at The Hackett are located on the third floor of an historic structure. There is no elevator or lift available at the facility. As such, The Hackett is not suitable for wheelchair users or persons with limited mobility that precludes the use of stairs. In an effort to provide the Marietta area with the best entertainment experience available, The Adelphia Music Hall is a part of The Hackett facility. The Adelphia is equipped with state of the art equipment to provide the best musical quality. As such, during some entertainment events sound will travel to the hotel. Please keep in mind The Adelphia hosts entertainment every weekend and some week days from approximately 9:00pm until 2:00am. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. If you foresee this being an issue, please contact us with questions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hackett Hotel Marietta, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing