We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Marietta”
Review of The Buckley House

The Buckley House
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best in Marietta”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Came here for lunch, and I was excited about it because my dining companion had been there before and really liked it, and I had read a lot of good reviews.

First off, the menu is a strange mix of Italian and Asian. It was hard to tell what kind of restaurant it is.

At lunch time, in an empty restaurant, the music was blaring. We asked the waiter to please turn it down or change it, and the best they could do was turn it down a bit. It didn't help the atmosphere at all.

We both had a simple curry -- not bad, the vegetables were nice and fresh, and it was well-executed. However, the flavors were pretty mild and I got what I expected, nothing more, which is too bad.

While the service was good and our waitress was attentive, I was a bit disappointed in the standards -- our table was not exactly clean, nor was my cloth napkin, and I was missing a knife. It showed a lack of care in the front of house.

Probably I'd give this place another try, because there really aren't many other places to eat in Marietta, and hopefully for dinner it would be a bit different and better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaSilvestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    34
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Circleville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our first visit and looking forward to the next. A little eastern and wonderful seafood. Service complimented the food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pberrigan43113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piracicaba, SP
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is one of the best restaurants in Marietta. The food is excellent, the menu has great variety with a touch of eastern food. You won't regret it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The food was a 5-rating”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Buckley House is highly-rated on several online sites. It is a historic house in Marietta which overlooks a park beside the Ohio River. We arrived about 10 minutes early for our reservation and were seated at a window in the front room. And promptly forgotten. After 20 minutes, Bill approached a waiter and asked him to find our waitress. Another 10 minutes later, after all of the other 7:00 PM diners were already served with drinks and appetizers, we stood up to leave. At that point our waitress noticed us. We were pretty unhappy, and ready to walk out. She offered a profuse apology and a couple glasses of wine on the house. Since any place we’d go would most likely have a wait at that time of day on a Saturday, we decided to stay. And I am glad we did. We had the crab cakes, lamb shank, and flourless chocolate cake for dessert. The mixed vegies were perfectly cooked, crisp and tossed with a flavorful oil. The crab cakes had very little filler and were quite wonderful. The lamb shank had been cooked all day and had a red wine demi glaze. It was moist and tender. And the flourless chocolate was perfect…one of the best I have ever had. So, despite the rocky start, I would consider going back because the food was a wonderful surprise in small town Ohio.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_from_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always delicious!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've never had a bad meal here. A very special place. Nice to sit outside when the weather is right.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janmarietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buckley House also viewed

 

Been to The Buckley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing