We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal trip. Will definitely visit again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marblehead
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was the first trip my son & I had made in 10 years. We were celebrating his graduation. South Beach Resort was the perfect setting for us. It was out of the hussle & bussle but close enough to drive to everything that we wanted to see. The staff was very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. We didn't have to ask for special accommodations for anything-they offered them. Being diabetic, we had a cooler for food needed in case of low blood sugars. We went to get ice for the cooler & when they found out what it was for, immediately offered a complimentary refrigerator for our room.
They also were very accommodating on my limited mobility.
The view from our room was absolutely beautiful.
I would recommend South Beach Resort, Marblehead to anyone that is going to be travelling in the vicinity. Very top notch & not extremely expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for South Beach Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 301 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

Yes it is overpriced for what you get. The walls are thin, as are the mattresses and towels - but it is a really lovely location and served us well as a base for our daily travels. We had a really nice time visiting Cedar Point one day and then doing the island hopping with the Jet Express Ferry. Didn't really use the on site facilities too much because we were so busy - we were barely around.

The negative I would say is most restaraunts seem to be at least 10 or 15 min away by car. Try the Mon Ami winery and the Japanese restaurant - Nagoya I think its called - both very good. When I booked I asked them to throw in the fridge for free which they did (otherwise its $10/day). I also used my LakeErie shores and Islands savings card (you can print it off the internet. This will save you 50% off the rack rate. The breakfast is really boring and not too many choices. I thought the room was reasonably clean. All in all we had a good time but not sure I would return.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank nacho12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Booked through Hotel.com. Hotel.com promised several upgrades and the resort refused to honor any of those. The resort without my knowledge took an additional $500 + out of my account. There were no fitted sheets on the mattresses; the jetted tub was black with mold. The room was dirty and very small. When we left we were once again asked to pay more money for something hotel.com promised was free. We were told that we must be shady people and up to something. First vacation in 15 years and last one ever to that place. Buyer beware, it is a rip off!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank breye4110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The hotel rooms are on the expensive side, but it honestly is worth it when you factor in all they have to offer and the fact of being near the water!! I did read a review that said you cant see the water, however that is not correct at all! I had a room on the second floor and the lakeview was still great(and must get better the higher the floor you are on). The front desk girls are absolutely wonderful. They were always willing to go above and beyond with suggestions of restauants and activities. There are about 20 different restaurants within ten minutes of a drive and the resort even has menus in the lobby to help decide where you would like to go! During my stay I did have a noise complaint which was dealt with immediately when I informed the night manager..I will definitely be coming back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jayvee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

when checking in to this hotel we were greated at the desk by 1 young girl who was trying to answer the phone and answer a guests question.as i waited patiently a young man who worked there asked us if he could help.we checked in with no problems.went to are rooms unpacked went to the pool.wow the pool was so dirty from trees,and to much chorline[and cigerette butts].after swimming i went back to the room,i left my wife at the pool.as i walked bye the front desk the young man was kissing the girl who was so busy when i checked in.my wife came back to our room she said she also saw them kissing and hugging.our room was nice but you could hear people talking all through the night,i think there were kids above us who were running around till 11.the pillows were terrible and sheets well lets just say smelled like bleach.when we checked out i noticed everyone that worked didn't wear a name tag.i usally stay at hotel at on 250,but we were going to the islands the next day.never again,way over priced for a cedar point hotel,or they try to say resort.

Room Tip: second floor,or stay in the cottages
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean. Nice location. You could go to Cedar Point one day, and Kelley Island or Put in Bay. Lots of families too.
Pool area for kids and another for adults. Right on the water, and a sun set to boot!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dszostek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I love South Beach Resort. Everytime we go there for a weekend getaway we have a great time. South Beach is very busy in the summer though. I prefer visiting in the Fall. We had a lovely time visiting several of the area wineries, the lighthouse and the island. We needed a relaxing weekend after a summer full of family weddings, graduations and other obligations. My husband ordered rose petals for the bed and a bottle of Champagn for our arrival. He also made reservations at Mon Ami, a must for a romantic weenkend. Then we packed a picknic and bottle of Merlot for our day trip to Kelley's Island. I can't wait to go back when the leaves change colors and the lake is still.

Room Tip: ask for the Romance Package
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
9.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
10.6 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
10.5 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 8620 E Bayshore Rd, Port Clinton, Put-In-Bay, Sandusky, Marblehead, OH 43440-9719
Location: United States > Ohio > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marblehead
Price Range: $141 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 1/2 Acres waterfront resort, with three heated in-ground pools, private sand beach, Jacuzzi, tennis courts, basketball court, 38 boat slip marina. Centrally located near Sandusky, Cedar Point, Put-In-Bay, Port Clinton, Lake Erie Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your South Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Marblehead
South Beach Marblehead
South Beach Resort Hotel Ohio/Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing