We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marblehead
Williamsburg, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Room was old and outdated with a musty smell, with torn carpet, drop ceiling, hard beds and a junky TV. Mattresses had plastic covers on them, which is a sign of bed bugs. The pool was nasty, it literally smelled like feces. I was tempted to call the board of health. It is across from the lake, but there is no close access to the lake. They advertise it as 12 miles away from Cedar Point, but in reality it is closer to 25 miles. The town appears to be dying, with not a lot going on. Stay on Kellys Island or Put In Bay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Locutus2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2010

The moment I walked into the dank, outdated room, I see a roach run from the bathroom floor to under the 30 year stove/sink. I always check for bedbugs in the box springs at hotels and it looked as though they gutted the box spring, but evidence still visible from bed bugs! Then, on my pillow was an eight legged friend. It was real late, so we went to the store and bought sleeping bags and slept on top of the bed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knye0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

After booking based on some good reviews, we experienced overall disappointment at this motel. It is quite old; looking like a motel from 30 years ago. The rooms were acceptable in cleanliness. But the beds were hard, the pillows thin and the bathroom unappealing (some mildew in tub, tiny sink, no hairdryer, etc). Don't expect much from the small, poorly kept pool. We paid just under $100 for three double beds, which I suppose is a good deal, in light of current prices. A plus for kids is the pond at the back of the property, where catch and release fishing is permitted. Lots of bluegills to catch and huge bass which kept a wary distance from our hooks.

Honestly, our disappointment was not just with the Surf Motel, but with Marblehead in general. We stopped overnight with the impression that the town was a quaint, lakeside vacation village. Instead, it is a gritty and somewhat depressed industrial town.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dburt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsmamabear2002
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

My family and I had 3 rooms over the Labor Day Weekend. We have been here several times. This is a laid back motel. The rate is extremely reasonable, expect to pay >$ 100.00 even in mid summer. Less of course when it is not peak season.

The Surf Motel and Bait Shop, also has a campground with permanent campsites and some overnight spots. There is a small catch and release fishing pond, a children's play ground, and a beautiful view of Lake Erie.

There is a neat pool, that has always been cold. And I mean brrrrrrr cold.

Your room contains 2 dbl beds, table&chairs, bathroom with lots of counter space. microwave and mini fridge.

This is an awesome place to stay. I would like to see the pool have a heater and coffee pots in the rooms.

Give this a try if you're not expecting luxury accomodations, of which there aren't any in the area anyway.

  • Liked — Veiw, Friendliness of Owners, rooms
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsmamabear2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

A great bargain in an area with notoriously high lodging rates! Good, basic accomodation, clean and convenient. All the basics, but no frills. If you want frills, stay at the Hampton--this is a great place to stay in a great location. The host was very helpful with local attractions and places to eat, and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. A very relaxed and fun atmosphere throughout the whole compound--motel, campground, and bait shop.

  • Liked — convenience and price
  • Disliked — slight fishy smell around bait shop, but you have to expect that!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AliPatDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Good trip. Surf Motel fine. Clean, comfortable, microwave and refrigerator. Close to the lighthouse and town.

Helpful?
6 Thank Zeiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

This motel is okay for the price but don't expect too much. Towels were like sandpaper, beds were lumpy and hard . Water pressure was very low. The pool was very small.

The motel was clean and quiet. I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beds
  • Tips/Secrets — you get what you pay for
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank derby73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
3.6 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
296 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
11.8 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
3.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point
9.2 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 230 E Main St, Marblehead, OH 43440-2226
Location: United States > Ohio > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Surf Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget friendly motel located in Marblehead. We offer quaint atmosphere, Close to all area activities. Free wifi access, pool and much more. Our rooms were updated in 2015. New carpet, new mattresses, new flat screen tv's We would enjoy having you stay with us. Pets welcome at additional fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Motel Marblehead
Surf Hotel Marblehead
Surf Motel Ohio/Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing