We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canoe Club Wine Bar

Canoe Club Wine Bar
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Marblehead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Catawba, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This cozy place is located in a non-descript strip shopping area that I think people drive right by. It is adjacent to an art gallery and is cleverly decorated. The wood-burning brick pizza oven adds to the ambiance. The menu is small, pizza, salads, soups, and sandwiches, but well done, and portions are ample. I especially love the sausage-kale soup, which is filling enough to be a meal. The wine board makes choosing easy, but there is also a more extensive wine list. Cocktails are also served. I love that this place is open year-round.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gvsumombley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Owner at Canoe Club Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We depend on customer feedback to make sure we get things right and always want to know how you feel about how we are doing. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    24
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really great little place with cozy, quiet atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We shared a really nice evening with friends at this unique little place. Warm, cozy environment, friendly, terrific service, delicious food and a great wine recommendation. We were introduced to Plungerhead wine...a new favorite. We also had a really superb blueberry vodka drink.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Momster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Owner at Canoe Club Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you. We appreciate your comment and the time you made to review us. Our commitment to food and customer service is taken seriously in hopes that you will come back and see us in Marblehead again.
Mark (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wines are budget bottles. Food is pricey. Service is good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The wines and food, in my opinion, are overpriced. Eight to ten dollars for 5 ounces of an eight dollar/ bottle wine. The food is good, but portions are small. i.e. A panini the size of a thank you card in breadth and length; light on the fillings, served with 1/4 cup of pasta salad for $10.00. The atmosphere is somewhat noisy. The service is good. Trendy now, but will it last.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ncoasttravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place for get togethers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great place to get together with friends to try some wines and food. Pizza is fire grilled and taste yummy. Atmosphere is quiet which makes it easy to have a conservation with friends. Probably not best for kids. Staff knowledgable about wines and always ready to answer questions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Finally a Wine Bar in our area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I live in Marblehead and was so happy to have a upscale bar open in our area. Finally we have a place that has more then just "Bar Food" No fried food here! You can bring your family, date night or a group of friends and feel welcome. Service and food are great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank red1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Club Wine Bar also viewed

 
Port Clinton, OH
 

Been to Canoe Club Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing