We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a place”

Canoe Club Wine Bar
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Marblehead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I and a fellow artist were invited to bring our art work to the Canoe Club Wine Bar by the owners who were at the "Appetite for the Arts" show in Port Clinton. We decided to check it out and saw they obviously did have an appetite for the arts as witnessed by the decor of their unique establishment. While waiting for the meals we chose from a varied menu we took our drinks into the adjacent art gallery to view and/or purchase tastefully displayed works of art while sitting at tables, or relaxing on couches. Another unique feature. The food, surroundings, and friendly responsive staff left nothing to be desired...except that it was too far from Cleveland to visit more often. We returned during the holiday season to take part in a well planned wine tasting and art sale event. This was initially a business visit, but turned out to be a place to return to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ld4ccwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Alice F”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We always enjoy the food and especially the martinis ~ yes, in a wine bar! They cater to those of us that don't drink wine!! Always have good service and love the art gallery, as well!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceSonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quaint, warm & inviting.......”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you are in the Marblehead, Ohio area, do yourself a favor and visit the Canoe Club Wine Bar. The quaint and well appointed establishment offers a variety of wines, and a full bar. The service is impeccible, and their oven baked pizzas are delicious. They have a variety of fun and entertaining venues, too. Whether your experiencing a fine cigar with friends on a Wednesday night, or live musis on a Sunday evening with fine acoustic entertainment, or just a relaxing time, you'll find it all at the Canoe Club Wine Bar on East Harbor Road in Marblehead, Ohio!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank giddyupdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Finally an upscale place that gets it right”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The location is semi difficult to find but its sure worth the effort! An upscale place in a blue collar area that gets it right fro the most part. Quiet, comfortable dining with some outdoor seating. Warm in the winter pleasant in thewarm weather months, the atmosphere hits the spot and is comfortable and relaxing without being pretentious or "themed" . Brick iron pizzas are great and larger groups may want to order a few different choices and share. They're all different but really good! Also, the iced tea here is the best I have found period. Its brewed in house and has a tinge of berry flavor to it that makes me wish they sold it by the gallon. Other local places advertise classy. For the real thing, follow the locals here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice addition to the area”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Is a very nice place to sit and talk, the art gallery was cool to go through, had some neat pieces in it. Only thing I could really complain about is some more selection when it comes to wine by the glass, and since it's in a wine producing area, get a few local ones. Food was very good, especially the pizza

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 74BenK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Club Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Canoe Club Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing