We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 4 - Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Mansfield
Certificate of Excellence
St Louis, United States
1 review
“Family of 4 - Good Experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel and guest rooms were very clean. We had a very quiet room not far from the interstate - but far enough not to be bothered by traffic noise. There were extensive breakfast choices for both adults and children. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Debra,
I wanted to thank you for filling out our survey. I appreciate any feedback that our guest give us. I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our facility. We hope you decide to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    102
    41
    22
    5
See reviews for
156
95
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel last weekend as a "mini-getaway". We chose the suite with 2 queen beds. The suite was only one room with one television but the room was large in size. Opposite the beds was a chair, sofa and a small area with a mini fridge, microwave and sink. Plenty of space for our family of four. We enjoyed a swim after we checked in and the pool was clean and area was well maintained. Coming back from swimming the staff informed us that fresh, hot cookies were just coming out of the oven and to come down to enjoy some (that made my kids happy!) The next morning we had the complementary breakfast in the lobby. There was alot to chose from: eggs, waffles, bagels, pastries, oatmeal, cereal, fruit. All very good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSU_MOM_OF_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear OSU_MOM OF 2
I wanted to thank you for filling out our survey. I appreciate any feedback that our guest give us. I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at our facility. We hope you decide to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Located close to decent restaurants, the hotel is easily accessible off the interstate. The hotel was clean, and quiet. The pool was large enough to swim laps, and the hot tub/whirlpool was enjoyably hot!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Joanne,
I wanted to thank you for filling out our survey. I appreciate any feedback that our guest give us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our facility. I am very pleased that you took the time to enjoy some of our amenities, as in the pool and whirlpool. We hope you decide to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I travel a lot for business and Mansfield is an occasional stop. The last time I stayed closer to downtown at the Holiday Inn. I don't remember much of it, bad or good. Given I don't remember anything bad, I should have just stayed there again in hindsight. While the area has it's charms--some interesting old architecture and a rich history of manufacturing--it's extremely poor economic situation leaves it with few good amenities. Thinking I was doing myself a favor by staying in a newer hotel, a chain with which I am familiar, I chose to stay at the Hampton Inn South. Huge mistake.

From the outside, this looks like every other suburban/rural Hampton. The check-in was fast and friendly. The honeymoon ended there. The appearance of the room was okay--slightly below average for comparable chains (Holiday Inn Express, Hilton Garden Inn, etc.). I was surprised at how much I could hear of neighbors and hallway noise. This place was not well built. The worst part, though, is that they do not have central air in the rooms. Instead, they have those under-window air units. These are usually noisy as it is, but in this case, they are completely oversized for the rooms. Obnoxiously so--they are HUGE. The thing was literally cycling on and off every few minutes my entire stay. I couldn't leave it off as the room become hot in minutes. (It was only like 80 degrees out.) Even with it on, the room was warm, cold, warm, cold--it probably fluctuated 3-5 degrees every 5 minutes. There was no way to adjust it to just stay on constantly. And it was LOUD. Again, a seasoned traveller, I always bring industrial ear plugs. They were of no help over the rumble of this beast.

The free breakfast was nothing special--precooked egg disks and sausage, cereals, baked stuff, fruit and yogurt. There is no way to get a good breakfast with any combination of those, but it's something. The free WiFi worked well. All in all, what's the point if you can't get a good night's sleep?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfanciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Bfanciu,
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our facility. Almost all of out Hvac systems were updated last Aug, but there are some rooms that still have a older version in them. I do appreciate your feedback, I like knowing what we can do to improve our property so our guest have an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked a suite with two queen beds and a sofa sleeper at this hotel because we are a family of 5 with 3 teenage boys. The room was one of the largest one room suites we have ever stayed in. The room was clean and in perfect working order. The Breakfast was what you would normally expect from a Hampton. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank joleaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Member,
Thank you for filling out our survey. All feedback is very appreciated. I hope you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel was clean and in order. However, the security door that is only accessible by key card was ziptied open compromising security of the patrons. After room occupancy, staff reentered our room and stored their food items in the fridge. Unnacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Patrick,
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South, I would like to apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in hopes that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to further discuss this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and two granddaughters loved both the hotel and all the staff. We were given the rooms we asked for and were also given much good advice on sightseeing in the area. This property is close to all the Mansfield and Lexington sights along easy access to Snow trails and the Mid-Ohio Sports Car track,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear James,
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. Your positive feedback means so much to our team!

On behalf of the entire staff here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South, I would like to thank you for your business. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mansfield hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mansfield
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Mansfield Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 15 in Mansfield
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Richland Inn-Mansfield
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mansfield/Ontario
7.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mansfield Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
Address: 2220 S Main St, Mansfield, OH 44907-2837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Mansfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mansfield
#2 Business Hotel in Mansfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mansfield-South @ i-71
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ i-71 Hotel Mansfield
Hampton Inn Mansfield
Mansfield Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71 Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing