We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must for Plant Lovers”

Kingwood Center Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic estate and garden which features 47 acres of landscaped gardens, greenhouses, hiking trails, and tours of the mansion. We hold many events, including corporate rentals, weddings and parties, Garden Club events, children's events, and community events such as Pumpkin Glow and Christmas at Kingwood.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must for Plant Lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

So many varieties of plants! If you enjoy identifying, or learning to identify plants you will see so much diversity here. Most are identified with tags or name plates. Beautiful place to walk with a lover, and kids enjoy feeding the ducks at the pond. Visit the wild pond near the back of the property, too. Lots of interesting creatures hang out there. Perfect for kid's leaf or bug collection projects.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank melissa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    29
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

A group of friends and I recently visited this place and LOVED IT! Admission is charged by the car load, so all 4 of us got in for only $5 for my whole car. Larger vehicles have larger charges.

Some quick tips...
*Tours of the house are run at specific times. Call ahead to find out if they are offering tours, and when. You will have to buy tickets.
*Lots of areas to sit and relax.
*Bring lots of change, there are food dispensers for you to feed the ducks and PEACOCKS.

We will be back. The staff told us to come out during Autumn and Christmas.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank OhioTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stopped here on our way to a B&B in Millersburg. The grounds were lovely and well cared for. We enjoyed walking through the plant sale area. We probably would've purchased a sensitive plant and ornamental peppers had we been closer to home! They were fascinating. It isn't huge, but for $5 we felt very pleased with our visit. We stayed for about an hour and walked at least 75% of the trails (although we were on a schedule so we might have walked a bit quicker than some). If we'd had our kids with us, I think that they would have enjoyed it as well. Being that it is not as large as some gardens they could've walked most of it and enjoyed the variety of plants. (The apple tree was one of my favorites.) Some trails have stairs that might make it difficult for strollers or wheelchairs, but I am guessing that other trails would bypass the stairs. We recommend this to anyone passing through, especially on your way into Amish country from the west.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mwess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A gardener's delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Recommended by another couple staying at the Winfield Inn in Ashland, my husband and I spent one afternoon exploring the beautiful gardens. It was peaceful, well-maintained and had a beautiful assortment of plantings. While it can't be compared to the Biltmore gardens in NC, we couldn't believe it was only $5/car to get in, and we were given a voucher for the same amount to spend in their garden shop. It was very nice, and all in all a very relaxing and delightful experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank livnlrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Gone to the dogs.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This used to be a nice, quiet and serene place to go for walks, smell the flowers, purchase plants and let kids feed the ducks in the pond. It isn't clean aymore, smells and now you have to pay to get in. The caretakers have really let this go down hill bad.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingwood Center Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Kingwood Center Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing