We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Longtime customer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Skyway East

The Skyway East
Ranked #3 of 137 Restaurants in Mansfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Longtime customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have been coming here for many years. The food has always been excellent. This past experience however has prompted me to write this review. The steak that I ordered was overcooked. I am writing not to complain but to commend the staff on how well they handled the situation. A+ service. I was given a new steak that was properly cooked and was comped the meal free of charge. The new steak was excellent as usual and I plan on returning many times.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    24
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gardiner, Montana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Five star quality food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Skyway East is an old elegant restaurant tucked away on a side street just off route 30. Diners wear suits and formals as well as t-shirts and jeans. The food and service are both five star quality! The restaurant has a great salad bar, delicious soups, seafood, steaks, duck, chicken, pasta, exceptional desserts, and extensive wine and after dinner drink menus. If you make reservations in advance, you will be given matchbooks imprinted with your name, a birthday greeting, etc. If you are looking for a restaurant for a special occasion or simply want a night out with exceptional food and service, I highly recommend The Skyway East.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Relaxandtravel200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dining Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Skyway East is a restaurant tucked in along the federal highway route 30 in Mansfield, OH.
It is a very friendly, clean restaurant with excellent service and very good food.
On Monday's they have a pianist that plays very well and is not intrusive on your conversations with you fellow diners
We have been there many times and in fact are going there this coming Monday with another couple.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Piano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went here for the first time with Commissioner Olson, his wife Pat and "The Gang". Food was very good but we seemed to wait ages for starters. Didn't matter cos Lanny was playing on the piano - good old-fashioned piano music, requests played, singalong encouraged.
We had a GREAT night, made special by Lanny. Sorry if our singing drove your other customers away, but we had FUN haha

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mickeymansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Everything's Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We've eaten at Skyway on many occasions and it's always top notch. We're not seafood eaters, but the steaks, pastas, chicken, and pork dishes have always impressed. I love ambiance, the politeness of the staff and the attention to detail (matchbooks with your name on them). Salad bar is always super fresh and has plenty of options. A little higher priced than the steakhouse chains in Mansfield, but completely worth every penny! If going on the weekends, make sure to make a reservation!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamiGiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skyway East also viewed

 

Been to The Skyway East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing