We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The go-to winery on the Geneva wine trail. Top Notch!”
Review of Debonne Vineyards

Debonne Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Madison, Ohio about an hour east of Cleveland, Debonne Vineyards is now the largest estate winery in Ohio, boasting over 175 acres of vines. Debonne Vineyards central location in the Grand River Valley wine region benefits from a climate moderated by the thermal effects of eastern Lake Erie. Our family commitment to excellence begins in the vineyards and is reflected in the quality of our premium Debonne Vineyards varietals and the original Chalet Debonne blends. Debonne Vineyards is also the first Ohio winery to open up a micro-brewery, Cellar Rats Brewery.
Chesterland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The go-to winery on the Geneva wine trail. Top Notch!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This place gets better all the time. It always feels comfortable and friendly. Music is playing people are dancing, it's festive. The wines are some of the best in Ohio. Bev and Tony have been providing us with quality wines for the 30 years we have visited here. This is always a place we stop when in Geneva wine country. @vintageohio

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadDogs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    46
    14
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wine is fine....WOW, they have beer too?”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

....on a very warm day, this perked me up hugely. What they have is quite good, in a very pleasant outdoor venue, similar to what you would find throughout Europe. Food is decent if not outstanding, but it works. But I really want to compliment them on their beers (Cellar Rat). Several different styles, but especially like POC (Pride of Cleveland/Columbus, etc)......this is what a really good pilsner should taste like....well done. Bands play outside for dancing during the summer. Went several times last summer, and will do so again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Larz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“favorite”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Debonne Vineyards is my favorite winery in that area. The ambiance is so cozy. They offer a variety of food in a casual setting. They also offer beer for those who don't drink wine. As far as I know they are the only ones that offer popcorn.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcole_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a great lunch and some refreshing wine. Some great house wines. A nice drive to Madison.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bukifan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for a Family Event”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was here for a wedding in October of 2013. The scenery and the location are just fantastic.
The lodge was used for the reception. The bride and groom and their families did a wonderful job of decorating and the caterer had wonderful food prepared for the reception.

The selection of wines and champagnes from the vineyard are fantastic. The Sweet Riesling was a wonderful wine to have with the main course (Chicken and/or Pork Tenderloin). The Champagne for the Toast was also exceptional.

The gazebo and the pavilion were decorated for the wedding which made it a wonderful, romantic date.

The vineyard will ship wines to certain states for a minimum of a certain number of bottles and for a small shipping fee if you happen to drive here or if you are flying home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrewjv1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Debonne Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Debonne Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing