We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place For An After Meeting Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #16 of 38 Restaurants in Macedonia
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Macedonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
462 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“A Good Place For An After Meeting Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our server was Denise and she was the only waitress on duty for the whole restaurant. She took our orders for a party of seven. Our food came quickly and was prepared just as requested. Other patrons were waited on in a similar fashion. The manager stopped by our table to say hello and to see if everything was OK. She was also cooking to make things go well and I told her how good my meal was. She said she was busy but she had caught up. Another server reported for work and the place was filling up. My milk shake was extra good and I really enjoyed my meal, Having had a dinner last week where the bill was $110.00 for two people I was glad to get my Steak 'n Shake bill for 18.00. for four people.........what a difference. The fancy restaurant was nice for a dinner once every two years. Steak 'n Shake is where I will go the rest of the time. I can't wait to try the breakfast choices after midnight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“First Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the first time my family ate at a Steak 'n Shake. Not bad!!! The burgers were very good. We didn't care for the shoestring fires, though they were prepared well. My husband ordered a shake. He said it was tasty but was way too thick to sip through the straw. All in all, the place offers good value while traveling.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elwebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
462 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Glad I Tried Them”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was invited to stop in with a friend for a milkshake after a late evening meeting. After I saw the menu I decided to try a burger and fries with the shake. The personality plus server was Marissa and she was a very pleasant surprise suggesting meal options and seeing that our sandwiches were just right. They were complicated with a few twists that were perfectly presented. I don't like the fries they use so I saved them and gave them to the birds...who did not complain one bit. My milkshake was delicious and just the way I ordered it and I will be sure to come back often for them. I will try the burgers again but I will get a double or triple as the single I got was not filling enough. When the bill came I was once again struck with the value of my purchase. Good food, good prices and good service with a smile was my experience. I am glad I tried Steak 'n Shake in Macedonia, Ohio and I'll be back soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Burgers are good, shakes are awesome
Service is good also good. Not a big fan of the fries shoestring.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saltyminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level Contributor
164 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best value for a burger, fries and a drinnk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The burgers are fairly good, but sometimes a bit sloppy.
I enjoy the fries, my wife likes the chili, and the service is typically fine, although can be spotty.

The value is what brings us back. You can't beat the combo meal - better tasting than fast food, and actually less money!

The only oddity - the vanilla malt shake had an odd taste the last two times I ordered it. I'm not sure what's going on there...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DGeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing