We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing changes...”
Review of Claddagh Irish Pub - CLOSED

Claddagh Irish Pub
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: European, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Claddagh Irish Pub brings the best of Ireland to American guests, serving modern twists on the finest traditional cuisine paired with perfect pints of beer in an authentic and friendly setting. The Claddagh represents a community in which friends and neighbors come together to enjoy food and drink and socialize, which is in the tradition of the pubs or "public houses" in Ireland that serve as town gathering places. The hallmark of the restaurants' public house environment is the "craic" (pronounced "crack")-meaning a fun, friendly, and exuberant atmosphere.
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing changes...”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have always liked dining at Claddagh in the past. Had the opportunity to get there for Saturday dinner and were shocked that we could walk in without a wait. Our experience might suggest why. The menu seems to have changed...less options, more expensive, and certainly lower quality. My family are Irish (the "off the boat" type of Irish) and my mom always said that for a chain, Claddagh had a good interpretation of Irish food, particularly shepherds pie. My husband ordered it last night and it looked like a frozen mess that was heated in a microwave--certainly not what had been served there in the past. The other food we ordered was fine, nothing special and overpriced. The service was ok. In addition, the restroom needed attention and a good cleaning. We have always enjoyed Claddagh but are likely not to dine here again in the future.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Looked interesting so gave it a try”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Fun Irish Pub in a relatively new lifestyle center. The menu had great choices. We figured since we were away from home, we would try something different. Very happy that we chose this restaurant. The food was good, the service was good and the atmosphere was fun. There was also outdoor seating although we chose to sit inside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcerbo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Bland Food and Expensive”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We ordered the Fish and Chips. The waiter said it was the most ordered item on the menu. When it arrived, I was really surprised. It was tasteless. No seasoning on the fish and that made it very bland. The meal was $55.00 with no alcohol, so on the expensive side to be so disappointing. The only saving grace was the waiter. He was a very delightful young man, but when you go out to eat, the food should be the star.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolv824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, excellent food”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was too engrossed in conversation (with a relative I don't see often enough) to study the menu, so I ordered my default choice in an Irish restaurant, which is fish and chips. Turned out to be an excellent choice! A really hearty serving that tasted great. The restaurant is large and beautiful-looking. We were there early on a weeknight so it wasn't too crowded. The server was friendly and efficient. If I lived in the area I would go back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYYVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was not our first time to the Irish Pub. As others have said, we were headed to the Cheesecake Factory, saw the line, and went to the Pub. We were very pleased to see no line in the early evening of a Saturday.

Our server, Angela, waited on us promptly. She often checked backed with us and took care of anything we needed. The food also came out quickly.

We had the Irish Stew and the Fish and Chips. Both were very good, and it was a lot of food. We were glad we did not get an appetizer. However, we did splurge on the Sticky Toffee Pudding. It was very good.

The Pub stays on our "go to" list of restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claddagh Irish Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing