We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maple Syrup Festival”

Malabar Farm State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park that features a working farm and the 32-room country home built by Pulitzer prize-winning author, Louis Bromfield.
Newfane, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Maple Syrup Festival”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was my first time as an adult going during festival time. Wow, has it grown! It was very busy the day that we went, so the wait to do different things could have been better, but still wasn't bad! The horse/wagon ride back was great, got a lot of pictures! Everyone seemed very knowledgeable and helpful...We had fun and 9 yr old learned a lot about making maple syrup. We'll be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AliC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    25
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
224 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We visited Malabar to tour the Bromfield House on a cold Sunday afternoon. Tickets are four dollars for adults and tours are offered several times a day and only on the weekends in the winter months. Check their website before visiting. Tickets are purchased in the gift shop/visitors center. There are restrooms located in this building as well as several different exhibits about the farm. The lady we purchased tickets from told us we could walk the farm or visit the barn before our tour. We did both, but it was much too cold and windy to stay outside very long.

The house is large and took about an hour and fifteen minutes to tour. Our tour guide did a great job and even talked about the ghost hunting show that had visited the previous year and shared some stories. Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall were married in the house and stayed for their honeymoon. Many other celebrities of that time visited the house and the guide shared some great stories. If you watch older movies you would probably recognize a lot of the names. The house was definitely lived in and is not as immaculately kept as other homes we have visited. It was kind of like the owners just stepped out for a bit; which is kind of neat because it shows you the home as it truly was. I liked that we didn’t feel rushed through the tour and our guide was very accommodating to questions.

I’d like to come back in the summer and take their guided farm tour on the wagon and walk the trails. If you’re in the area I would recommend a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank funinthesun037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Big House is like a time capsule”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I visited Malabar Farm last December. The place is very nice, great landscape in the hills of Pleasant Valley, wonderful short hikes in the woods, the farm is nice, but the most interesting for me was the Big House - the home of the Pulitzer Prize-winning author Louis Bromfield. The house is really like a time capsule - you enter and you feel like going back in the first half of the last century - everything is preserved and just amazing, you feel the spirit of the place! Also interesting trivia: Bromfield hosted Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall's wedding and honeymoon at Malabar Farm. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumiana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Great Outdoor Experience”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is a cool little working farm. There are several really good short hikes and if you go in the fall you are sure to see plenty of deer.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tardis4599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Past, present and future”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We began our time at Malabar farm with the museum, very interesting and informative. Quite the vision of farming/food. Our tour of the mansion at Malabar farm took us back in time. It being the Christmas season, had the farm blanketed in snow. We were greeted with carolers as we entered the house. The guides really enjoy talking about the place and the history of the famous people who lived or were guests there. This is an interesting tour that you can take at your own pace. We were intrigued to find the house holds two original Grandma Moses paintings! The large collection of books is interesting as well. Our tour ended with hot mulled cider and cookies. Be sure and eat at the Malabar Farm Restaurant, the atmosphere, food and service are all great!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLBrenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar Farm State Park also viewed

 

Been to Malabar Farm State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing