We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very different place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Landoll's Mohican Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loudonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very different place to stay.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a change from "hotels". We stayed in the Landoll Suite. It's multi-level with a private turret. Very clean room and very comfortable. Service was great and the breakfast was lovely. Don't expect good cell phone service or tv, you are way out there, but you don't go to the castle to yack on the phone.
Yes, maintenance issues are a problem, but the Landoll was hit with the recession like everyone else. When we arrived they had no hot water. Quickly repaired and our vacation continued.
Yes, you could hear doors and floors creeking but it is a castle. Stay at the Hampton and you also hear those above you and doors slamming all night long. The road to the castle is a mess, but once again, you are way out there and city road crews aren't available.
All the rooms are different. We enjoyed the upper level of the Landoll Suite. Lots of stairs but it was totally worth it.
We will be going back.

Room Tip: Landoll Suite! Best in the Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ljc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    83
    42
    29
    29
See reviews for
59
242
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield Village
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We came into town for the Mohican Endurance Festival and unfortunately, there we not many options for a hotel close by the event. It was interesting, but definitely not worth the $189/night rate. We stayed in the Hardesty Suite on the bottom floor of the castle. It was loud and we could hear the people walking back and forth upstairs for a LONG time. This was not good considering we really needed to get our rest for the next morning.

The grounds and buildings showed signs of deferred maintenance and lack of attention. Grass was overgrown, buildings need stained.

We were pleased with the service we received in the dining room, especially the bartender on duty. But we were not sure why reservations were asked for as when we walked in at 5:00, the place was empty. And what's with the hours only being from 5-8PM? Strange.

Overall, I was not impressed and would not stay again. (Unless it were my ONLY option.)

Room Tip: Stay in a room on the upper floor of the castle. You can hear people walking down below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeromesville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Both my wife and I loved it both times we were there. We enjoyed the stroll around the outside when were there in the spring and the exotic cave pool which was nice and warm during the winter stay. The flowers were good the room was pleasant to great and the tower gave us a new perspective,

Room Tip: The rooms are all kinda customized so its different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewlarson546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed in both the Miller Suite and the Khim Suite during my June 2014 stay. Both suites were breathtaking and very private. I was looking to get away from a very busy lifestyle, and the silence of the grounds lent itself nicely to peace and quiet. The breakfast each morning was nice and simple, and I could either eat in the lobby or take my breakfast anywhere on the grounds. I ate most of my meals outside since the weather was mild at the time. Due to the privacy and stillness of the castle and grounds I was able to get some creative work completed that I would normally struggle with during my normal routine. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to get away for a while.

Room Tip: No 2 suites are alike. Really read through the descriptions of each suite before deciding on a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

June 2014 we stayed in the Barton Suite as it was the only one available during a wedding weekend. It was clean and nicely decorated. However the pool area was in need of a total update to be worth using. The grounds and building overall are in serious need of updating and maintenance. It seems the current owners may be financially tapped out. It would be wonderful if a new investor purchased and updated the property. With updates and regular property maintenance we would certainly be regular visitors.

The road needs to be repaved and there is a very odd collection of large dinosaurs around the property. Being a castle, dragons, etc. would make much more sense.

We will keep an eye on reviews to see if the condition of the property changes and return if it does.

For now we will continue to visit the Stepping Stone restaurant on the property when we are in the area. The chef is AMAZING!!!!! Our server, Becki, was most Charming!!

Room Tip: Suites with upper level private balconies seem to be the best choices on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Perhaps would stay for a discounted rate but we sure wouldn't stay again for full rate. Not only after reading several past reviews, but after actually staying there it is very true that maintenance has apparently been a very big issue. It's too bad as it was once very nice (went to a wedding there a few years ago and I can't begin to say how horrible this place has gone downhill since). The driveway up the hill is in very bad shape, too bad. I know lots of motorcycle enthusiasts who would love to take long rides and this would be a great place to go but you could never go up that hill -- just way too many potholes! And the pool is in very, very BAD shape. I read a review about black mold all over the patched ceiling and walls and the bathroom being hardly usable, it's ten times worse than the person stated in that review (it is not just gross, it is really, really gross). This place really does need closed down and refurbished especially since we also did see mouse droppings everywhere (and there were also lots of dead flies). We like to find unique places like this but as a lot of the other reviews said, we just can't justify staying again at this castle in its current condition.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We visited Landoll's Mohican Castle to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were looking for somewhere memorable, intimate, and not too far from home. This place did it all! The drive leading up to the Castle is very pretty going back past all the rowdy mayhem on the river in Mohican Valley. You drive a ways through a rural area, and thank goodness for the signs, or we might have gotten lost! The driveway is rough, and we laughed at the 15 mile per hour speed limit, like we could even go that fast if we tried! As you drive past the other buildings in the compound like the restaurant and the event hall, suddenly you see the spires rise out of the trees. It is truly a breath taking sight!

I was surprised to learn that this is not a historic building, but fairly new. It was first opened for business in 2002. The suites in the castle itself are very unique and interesting, and we felt like a king and queen as we stepped through the door of ours. Next time, I would like to stay in a room with one of the terraces. We stayed in the Hardesty Suite right next to the Lobby, and it was a bit cave like with the only windows near the door. But we were there for intimacy, and this was our own little private haven.

The rooms were overall very clean, and lavishly decorated in a non-cheesy royal theme with tapestries, a stone fire place, and timbers in the ceiling. There were some leather furniture pieces in the room which didn't look like they were faring too well with the hotel use. May they needed more attention and a thorough cleaning once in a while.

All of the service was friendly, and attentive. We ate at the Stepping Stone for dinner after making reservations as suggested by the front desk staff. The food was expertly prepared, and delicious!

We wish the continental breakfast opened earlier than 9:00. We are used to rising early and even on vacation got up about 7:30. At least there was coffee in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view in the main castle. You don't want to stay in one of the other build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackWatchJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loudonville
21.8 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
742 reviews
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
#1 of 4 in Bellville
246 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Millersburg
156 reviews
23.1 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
7.1 mi away
Mohican Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landoll's Mohican Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landoll's Mohican Castle

Property: Landoll's Mohican Castle
Address: 561 Township Road 3352, Loudonville, OH 44842-9541
Location: United States > Ohio > Loudonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loudonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landoll's Mohican Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landoll's Mohican Castle provides a boutique hotel experience in central Ohio. The Castle contains 11 uniquely designed suites with fine furnishings that fit the style of an old world castle. In addition, there are four adjoining suites in a separate building called the Highland Suites. Finally, there are two free-standing cottages. The Highlands and cottages have been built to fit the theme of the large suite rooms that are featured in the Castle. The Castle Event Center is the largest of its kind in the Mohican-Loudonville area, seating up to 200 people in banquet-style seating. The Event Center and The Copper Mug Bar & Grille restaurant recently hosted a filming by a Gordon Ramsay television show. The result of this experience was a complete redesign of the menu for the restaurant and wedding events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Landoll's Mohican Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landoll`s Mohican Castle Hotel Loudonville
Landolls Mohican Castle Loudonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing