We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landoll's Mohican Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landoll's Mohican Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loudonville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Doylestown, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Grounds look terrible they need to take the time to clean it up. The lady who works the early shift is very rude. I'd say over priced to stay there. Hocking hills is way better at the same price. The breakfast they give is ok. The waffle iron needs cleans doesn't look like they have cleaned it in years. The pool room was so hot you didn't even want to be in there. It felt better outside then the pool room. The drinks in the rooms were 2 dollars a drink total rip off take your own drinks and snacks. The food at their restaurant was very good I do have to say and prices were good. The tv there went out several times because of the storms. You can't enjoy fresh air in your room because there are no screens for the windows. Also make sure on the room not all rooms are in the castle. Vending machines there are triple the value so don't buy anything there. Overall don't waste your time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Van R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    75
    40
    28
    29
See reviews for
54
223
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I planned a two night stay over memorial day. Sadly we chose to leave after 1 night. First iI'll state the positives, our room (suite #4) was beautiful, the grounds were well maintained and lovely and the front desk staff was friendly..The bed was comfortable with decent linens, not the best I've seen in a hotel but certainly not the worst either. The overall charm of the hotel would overshadow many minor complaints (ie, 6 blown lightbulbs in the room including the bedside lamp, dirty shower door and only 1 soap, no conditioner or lotion provided), our 1major complaint is the restaurant. The sunday before memorial day it was open from 5 til 7:30. We were not aware of this (no notice given at the front desk or in the room) and showed up for dinner at 7:45ish. The door was still unlocked but a paper posted on the front door stated the limited dining hours. Why bother having a restaurant at all if on a holiday weekend it's open for 2 1/2 hours? Next they do not sell alcohol on Sunday. Not normally a big deal but as we were there to celebrate his birthday it was not what we were looking for. From what our server told us (we did stay for appetizers and water) the restaurant is usually open for only a few hours and the hours are constantly changing. Since there is not much else nearby these are important details that could be shared on the website. Also as a person in the fine dining industry the restaurant was a major disappointment. Plastic place mats on white linens, farmhouse style tables and chairs, fake flowers as far as the eye could see and a menu that seemed to include a majority of heat and serve fare. If a good weekend away includes good food and a few drinks, this is not the place for you. When we checked out early the front desk clerk did return our money for the second night which was an unexpected and pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lstennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This castle far out weighed my imagination! The pictures on the website doesn't do it justice! Very clean, beautifully decorated. The staff went far and beyond to make us comfortable and to make sure we had what we needed day or night. They gave us directions to get where ever we wanted to go. There is a restaurant on the grounds. This is reservation only and they close at 8 pm. No one delivers to the castle, so take the advise of the front desk and make reservations. The pool house is awsome. A large pool, hot tub, and an extra activity room with a pool table and seating. Also, at 10 pm, everything must be quite. I loved that! This is one of the best experiences we have ever had! Thank you to the staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sassy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Macbeth cottage. Very charming place however there were 2 issues. One being the toilet would not flush most of the time without having to mess with it and the other is after one of us showered we ran out of hot water. Next morning, no hot water as well. My birthday weekend was tainted by these things because it caused tension and an evening ruined. Nice place but it does need alot of maintenance. Will not be going back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stacy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I booked two suites for a two day get away early May. Upon arrival, ( which is so remote you do need good driving skills) we were taken aback by how perfectly placed this property is. Location and remote fits right in with the castle theme. The parking area was a bit of a walk from the lobby but a pretty well landscaped winding path . Our check in was quick and very accommodating . We had the ground floor guest suite ROSS. Upon entering you are taken in by the charming decor and upscale finishes in the kitchenette . The bed was soft and turned out very nicely. As for the bathroom... Holy cow I've never been in such a lovely tiled room ! It was very beautiful! Our friends had the the ring suite with was unfortunately a few steps to second level. That room was equally charming but seemed to have a cooling issue. Staff accommodated and moved them to the bolliche suite on ground level. Very large suite with beautiful views of the grounds! The winding path up the hill to the indoor pool was simply stunning with the spring blooms and flowering trees. Pool was warm and hot tub relaxing. Maintenance does need to be done soon though ! That pool house has creative high end architecture that is falling into disrepair! Please note it's still nice but could and should be returned to its original state of awesome! Fitness room? Empty. Game room.. Pool table and tv . Water falls over pool and hot tub not running.???? This pool could be so fantastic ! Why not get on the upkeep before its gone too far. Shame to let such a unique place crumble away . As for the pety stuff such as older style Televisions , I don't mind as long as they work. Flat screens would be a nice upgrade. Lighting in suites and outside needs addressed.. Simple maintenance fixes ... Management issue but just the same , this property needs a small bit of TLC to stop a slow deterioration of a grande idea and concept!! Replace burned out bulbs! Fix broken key cards! Simple maintenance! Overall, still was taken by the castle concept and its charm. Managent!!! Please get on the small stuff before it becomes BIG stuff!!! I want to return and bring my friends!!! If money is issue, find investors that can see what a diamond in the tough this place is!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maumeemawmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very private and cozy experience. Great for a romantic weekend stay. The living quarters we stayed in was a little pricey for the size of the room but overall was very nice. I think the next time we visit, we will upgrade to one of the larger suites. The location is also not very far from Berlin and Sugar Creek, OH where a nice little day trip can be had at the local shops and Amish style restaurants. Not to mention the gigantic coocoo clock!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbell02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned from the castle and absolutely enjoyed our stay. The ladies at the reception desk where helpful and very polite. Our room was beautiful and very quite. We ate at the restaurant both nights we stayed and the food was very good. Our server was very attentive and our food came out in a timely manner. The French Onion Soup and the Chardonnay Vinaigrette where absolutely delicious. Saturday night they had a prom and we still where able to eat at the restaurant and never once waited for our server. We where a little apprehensive due to all the bad reviews and I'm not going to lie the place needs work but there is a charm about the castle. My husband and I enjoyed walking around the grounds seeing all the trees coming in to bloom. We are planning to come back later this year or next year and bring our son.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loudonville
21.7 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
21.9 mi away
St. Paul Hotel
St. Paul Hotel
#3 of 8 in Wooster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
23.1 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
21.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Mansfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
7.0 mi away
Mohican Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landoll's Mohican Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landoll's Mohican Castle

Property: Landoll's Mohican Castle
Address: 561 Township Road 3352, Loudonville, OH 44842-9541
Location: United States > Ohio > Loudonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loudonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landoll's Mohican Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landoll's Mohican Castle provides a boutique hotel experience in central Ohio. The Castle contains 11 uniquely designed suites with fine furnishings that fit the style of an old world castle. In addition, there are four adjoining suites in a separate building called the Highland Suites. Finally, there are two free-standing cottages. The Highlands and cottages have been built to fit the theme of the large suite rooms that are featured in the Castle. The Castle Event Center is the largest of its kind in the Mohican-Loudonville area, seating up to 200 people in banquet-style seating. The Event Center and The Copper Mug Bar & Grille restaurant recently hosted a filming by a Gordon Ramsay television show. The result of this experience was a complete redesign of the menu for the restaurant and wedding events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Landoll's Mohican Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landoll`s Mohican Castle Hotel Loudonville
Landolls Mohican Castle Loudonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing