We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Landoll's Mohican Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loudonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We needed a place to stay for a family emergency and this was the only place near by that was available. I was shocked at the price of the rooms but had no choice. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean but that was about it. The room keys were impossible to use, and the doors were extremely heavy. You had to use all you weight to get it open. No hot water for 2 of the 3 days, we called to complain but were told there was a big boiler and to let the water run. After 20 minutes it was still ice cold. The TV's had Direct TV but hardy any of the channels worked, plus you had to read an instruction manual to learn how to use it. I read earlier in a review and agree that the paper products are cheap and agree. The light outside our room did not work and we about killed ourselves trying to find our way back from our car one evening. We were told that lightning had struck and blew out all of those light and that we had flashlights in our rooms. We had 2 rooms and no flashlights anywhere. Air conditioning broke down the last night in one of our upper rooms, no one avavialbe after 11 to help.

It seems like no one cares when you are there, just like "oh well, that's the way it is". For $160 a night I expect much better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahAuck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    80
    41
    29
    29
See reviews for
57
236
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The remote location feels like you are in another country. I can't believe there is a place like this in Ohio! Truly remarkable! Rooms decorated with high quality fabrics and furnishings. We had a couples massage and it was great to get away from the stress of daily life. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buckeyenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed in the Landoll room, we have 4 young children and this was explained to be the room with the most space. Upon arrival we were informed that there was a wasp nest outside one of the three balconies but that the other two were fine. WRONG. We were unable to use any of the balconies because of the wasps. There were no trails to walk or hike, we were surrounded by farm waste instead. The restaurant is WAY over-priced and the food is not good. The pool was just ok, not at all how it's pictured on the site. When we left before our 2nd night of stay and shared our complaints with the staff they said nothing. Not even an "I'm sorry to hear that". We were very unhappy with our stay, and very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask about wasps first I guess!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkerfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Problems in our room: 6 burnt-out lights, only 1 bar of soap, no TV instructions, broken curtains, dirty toilet, dirty floor, overall dusty, cheap paper products

The roof of castle, decks, and outside woodwork are in need of stain. There were several lights out around the property. It was sad, as we had been there about 6 years ago and everything was so beautiful then. However, it seems that year-to-year maintenance isn't happening.

The desk people were very nice and helpful.

Hiking trails are not maintained - website is inaccurate.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeasAndCarrots77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Our Getaway 1.Keycard to swipe,no place to swipe, they say woops, we dont have a swiper how about a key! 4.Nice room 5.Pool has been way under construction for WAY over a year. Rusty fans and scafilting (sp) all over the place. 6.people in street clothes did massages in a lighted room with the curtains half open and we could see there lunches on the window sill. over priced. and gym equipment all broke 7.went to take a bath in our HOT TUB. no hot water 8. home sweet home and lots of laughs after a FULL refund and we will not return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJNOE0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed in The Landoll Suite for our anniversary. The suite was so warm and inviting. We loved the architectural design of the room but thought some of the decor was dated. The room above the spiral staircase has windows encircling it and is a lovely room to sit and relax in but there were no chairs to sit in. We actually sat on the floor and the room was so warm, being at the very top of the suite, we decided to crack the door open and when we did an ear piercing alarm began to go off. We ran as quickly as a person can run down a spiral staircase to the phone and when I picked the phone up to dial the front desk the alarm stopped. I called the front desk anyhow and was told they had accidentally set the alarm off in our room. OK....?!!! The front balcony, off of the kitchen area, was so infested with wasps that we were constantly being dive bombed by them. I couldn't relax enough to sit out there until it was very dark and the wasps retired for the evening. The cleaning crew should be fired! I find it hard to believe they do much more than make the beds. The dust on the lampshades and under the furniture was disgusting. Laying on the bed you could see underneath the dresser and the dust was extremely thick with bobby pins laying in the middle of it. The items on top of the dresser were never removed and dusted under, just dusted around them. I didn't want to look around too much for dirt but it was easy to find. The grounds are so deprived of maintenance it is mind boggling. Just simple maintenance like trimming the shrubs and picking up the dead birds would make a huge difference. The pool area was anything but inviting. The pool was cold and the hot tub was even colder and unclean looking. The outside of the pool house was littered with cobwebs, leaves and dirt. And now the restaurant..........It was completely unlike the castle architecture, more like a banquet hall, with cheap decor. Very cold and unwelcoming. The food was nasty and overpriced. I believe the hostess was also the waitress and was also the cook because she was the only employee we ever saw. My husband, myself and 3 other couples were the only people in the restaurant and the waitress brought me the wrong order. So, as my husband ate his anniversary dinner alone, I waited, waaaaaaay too long for my bland fettucini alfredo. After several bites, I had it boxed up (only to throw away later), we paid for our overly expensive, less than desirable meal and walked away feeling unsatisfied and taken. With all of that being said, my husband and I made the most out of our stay and actually did enjoy Landoll's Mohican Castle. It is very unique and believe it or not we will go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTtheEpic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2011

What a rip off! They bill this place on their web-site as a magical castle - far from it. The place has been completely neglected. When we arrive our "suite" was 40 degrees, we turned on the heat and after about an hour it finally warmed up enough that we could take off our jackets, but then we couldn't get the heat to go back down and we spent the rest of our stay sweating, even with the windows open. When we called the front desk they said that the maintenance supervisor called in sick. We walked around the "grounds" but were really disappointed with the level of neglect, broken lights, slippery walkways, a waterfall that looked like it once was in working order, etc. The food at the restaurant was also very disappointing for the price. Will not be going back...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel58813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loudonville
21.8 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
602 reviews
23.1 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
21.9 mi away
St. Paul Hotel
St. Paul Hotel
#3 of 8 in Wooster
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
#1 of 4 in Bellville
237 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mohican Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landoll's Mohican Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landoll's Mohican Castle

Property: Landoll's Mohican Castle
Address: 561 Township Road 3352, Loudonville, OH 44842-9541
Location: United States > Ohio > Loudonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loudonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landoll's Mohican Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landoll's Mohican Castle provides a boutique hotel experience in central Ohio. The Castle contains 11 uniquely designed suites with fine furnishings that fit the style of an old world castle. In addition, there are four adjoining suites in a separate building called the Highland Suites. Finally, there are two free-standing cottages. The Highlands and cottages have been built to fit the theme of the large suite rooms that are featured in the Castle. The Castle Event Center is the largest of its kind in the Mohican-Loudonville area, seating up to 200 people in banquet-style seating. The Event Center and The Copper Mug Bar & Grille restaurant recently hosted a filming by a Gordon Ramsay television show. The result of this experience was a complete redesign of the menu for the restaurant and wedding events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Landoll's Mohican Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landoll`s Mohican Castle Hotel Loudonville
Landolls Mohican Castle Loudonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing