We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Questionable burgers, great fries”
Review of the mohican tavern

the mohican tavern
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Loudonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: fantastic crab cakes,steaks,burgers, pastas, salads there open from mid-may through october fantastic and cheap
Restaurant details
Description: fantastic crab cakes,steaks,burgers, pastas, salads there open from mid-may through october fantastic and cheap
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Questionable burgers, great fries”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Friendly service, old-building atmosphere. Fries were great but burger so-so. Had the Mohican, great toppings but the burger itself tasted institutional: mushy, pre-cooked and thrown on the grill at the last minute to give it flavor. I burped it all afternoon. Husbands mushroom Swiss also had great toppings, but same meat. Not what I go to a local, unique restaurant for.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MitziDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
285 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced but good”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We enjoyed our food here, though it was overpriced. The cost was not commensurate with the ambiance at all. It was bar food for sit-down restaurant prices. No complaints beyond price. It is very much a bar setting. I went with my 14 and 16 year old at 5p.m. and was glad to be gone before the Saturday night fun started.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMelissa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food great prices.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We ate there with new friends. We were greated with a warm hello and seated quickly. The place was clean, well laid out, and had a rustic charm. The waitress suggested we try their ruben and fresh cut fries that was on their special item for the day. It was perhaps the best ruben I have had. Fries good also. We ordered wine as suggested from a prior post and also were given a hefty pour of wine. The prices were very good and so was confused by the post that it was pricey? This was an EXCELLENT VALUE and more importantly, great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woogirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
194 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Great place and great food. Nice place to sit and have a beer. Not to far from the Mohican Park and the other Loudonville attractions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whammie787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Loudonville”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I used to work in restaurants as a sous chef and this food is goooood! Good burgers steaks crab cakes sandwiches and cold beer and ooh so good on the pocket book. A must try. Tried other restaurants in town and no comparison. A must for your Loudonville visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the mohican tavern also viewed

 

Been to the mohican tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing