We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too hot to tolerate”
Review of Motel 6 London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 London
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in London
Bark River, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too hot to tolerate”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Arrived on motorcycle drove in 90 plus temps,got to the room and air conditioner was turned off, we turned it on and after 3 hours it was hotter inside than outside, the desk clerk came to check , put her hand on it and said they will say it is blowing cold air, she then called someone and told them that room 126 the people have Been in the room for 3 hours and it is hotter than h--l in here . No one ever came to check out the air conditioner, we asked for a refund but were told no , we walked across the street and got a room at Holiday Inn Express. Will never stay at a Motel 6 again

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yoshee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    9
    3
    11
See reviews for
9
10
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here last minute while we were on our way to the Chicago area. It's no frills, but relatively clean and comfortable for a quick overnight stay. It's right next door to a truck stop so you have a lot of coming and going, but we couldn't hear anything in our room. It was around $50.00 for the one night and it was cheap enough, clean enough and safe enough that I would stay there again if needed. Don't expect luxury, but it's fine for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ice cold refrigerator but that's a a good thing. Most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. Its not really a bed but a double sized mattress atop a plywood platform. Called front desk to get the password to the free wifi but never got an answer so I walked up to the front desk and it was unattended. Rang the bell to no avail. Took several hours to get ahold of someone to get the password to a wifi that wasn't very wi. My phone service was faster. Check in at front desk with someone very less than friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Last night my mother and I stayed at one of the best renovated motels we have ever encountered. Being working people that enjoying traveling, and on a budget, this is a great place to stay. If your looking for the "Ritz" this is not the place for you. However, if you need a place that is clean, carpeted, effective, friendly, and overall awesome; come to the London, OH Motel 6. We will definitely stay again. Towels and pillows could be fluffier, but they were still effective.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here for a night and after four hours awoke to a bed bug on my face and pillow. Told the night clerk and he offered a new room but no refund. I am fighting to get my money back right now. Nasty thing is I drive by all the time and they are still renting out rooms even after I alerted corporate about this. Beware of london motel 6. They are nasty. Even videotaped the whole ordeal in case anyone needed me to prove it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittanycooper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Property was dingy, not up-to-date, and not very clean. Probably the most expensive Motel 6 I've ever stayed in - tremendously overpriced. There are other alternatives nearby - don't bother with this one!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Palehose18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here as a last resort, since all the independents on 40 since Columbus had been incredibly creepy. Didn't go as far as the Madison Motel to the west of this place, or I might have given that a shot. Anyhow, after wandering around for an hour and a half, and being turned away by the weirdo at the Cordle, I gave up and settled for this place.

It's a strange look for this chain, several small one story buildings. Not sure how long it's been a Motel 6, but all the pens at the desk were Knights Inn (an even cruddier chain). The clerk was friendly, and the rate was decent, about $54 with my AAA card.

The rooms are pretty big, and decently clean. Furnishings are older, but not beat up. You get a fridge, microwave, dirty old beige phone, a big old tube TV with a reasonable cable selection, but no clock. The heater worked well, and the wi-fi signal was pretty good. The beds were comfortable, and the sheets were clean. You also got a thin blanket and the obligatory duvet.

The bathroom was pretty clean (towels okay, hot water good, soap only), but the walls were seriously warped and the wallpaper had split in several places. The wallboard under the sink outside was also badly warped. As a matter of fact, the building was very cheap and flimsy, and people walking around on the plywood floors in adjoining rooms sounded like they were running around on the roof.

The night was fairly quiet, but the room wasn't terribly dark since the shades let a lot of light in at the top. All in all, for a place to sleep at a decent price, it wasn't bad, but I'd just as soon try someplace else if I ever go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripperMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
23.0 mi away
Quality Inn and Conference Center
22.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
12.6 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus West
Motel 6 Columbus West
#72 of 143 in Columbus
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
#5 of 14 in Springfield
168 reviews
12.3 mi away
Super 8 Columbus West
Super 8 Columbus West
#82 of 143 in Columbus
258 reviews
12.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
#81 of 143 in Columbus
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 London

Property: Motel 6 London
Address: 870 State Route 42 NE, Holiday Trail Rd, I-70 Exit 79, London, OH 43140 (Formerly Knights Inn)
Location: United States > Ohio > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 London 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Motel-6 and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Knights Inn
Motel 6 London Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing