We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hocking Hills Base Camp!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Ranked #1 of 3 Logan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hocking Hills Base Camp!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our first trip out to the Inn at Cedar Falls and it will probably not be our last! We went based on a recommendation from a friend. We only stayed one night, but I think one night was all that we needed! We used this place as base camp for hiking at Hocking Hills. We ended up showing up early - had lunch at the restaurant. The food was AMAZING - both my wife and I commented that they were some of the best bites we've ever had. My wife had a caesar salad and a bowl of the bean soup and I had the turkey club. Their sourdough bread is amazing and the sandwich had a delicious pineapple chutney! Afterwards, we checked in early without any problem (check-in is normally 3 PM but our room was ready at 2 or 2:30 PM). The girl at the desk was very friendly, professional and informative. She told us everything we needed to know. We opted to rent a cottage instead of a cabin since it was only the two of us. I think cabins are for larger parties or if you want to be able to cook while you're there. Our cottage was beautiful! Very clean, very nicely decorated and it had everything we needed. It was fun reading the journal in our room (be sure to leave an entry!). We also enjoyed playing board games at our table. We opted to have dinner at the restaurant as well. Be sure to make a reservation before coming - they are required. Dinner, like lunch, was amazing - we both had the filet with mashed potatoes and carrots. We haven't had food like this in a long time so we really enjoyed it. The cheese ball for the appetizer was also really good and my wife had the apple, walnut, and cranberry salad. Delicious. We opted not to have dessert. We had heard great things about their desserts... but in true wilderness fashion, we wanted to make s'mores! Behind the restaurant, there is a fire pit, complete with firewood, tinder, and a common room in the inn nearby with matches, newspaper, etc. We made our own fire and roasted marshmallows! We did unfortunately have a scare at the fire - please be advised that it is VERY dark outside at night due to the lack of lighting and the fact that you're in the country (no city lights, etc.). We heard a rustling in the woods in front of us and a snort noise that sounded like a dog (coyote). This spooked us - we made loud noises to try and scare it (or them) off... 5 minutes went by before we heard something again! We also heard something thrown at us (likely dropped - there is an apple tree next to the pit). SO... we packed our stuff up and got out of there! Good thing we had a flash light - we had walked down for dinner. I would recommend driving down if you plan on staying out past dark. It was a scary walk all the way back to the cottage! But, we made it and had a good night sleep in our king bed. The bed itself was a little springy but the pillows and bedding were awesome - very soft, pillowy, and comfortable. We woke up and packed up the next morning - breakfast is 8 - 10 AM (complimentary) and checkout is at 11 AM. The breakfast was pretty good - I had scrambled eggs with a "spicy" sausage patty (just a regular sausage patty) and sourdough toast (again amazing). They also had an area with yogurt, fruit, and their homemade granola which was also delicious! My wife had eggs with bacon and she gave me her inn muffin, which was a delicious muffin with chocolate chips - warm and melty delicious. Checked out after that - no problems and my wife picked up a couple of unique items from the gift shop. Tip - there is a $5 coupon in the magazine they give you when you check in that is good for $5 off $25 in either the restaurant or gift shop! I bet a lot of people miss that.

Other observations - everyone at the inn was very friendly and made you feel welcome. We went in the middle of the week and noticed that most people were older than us (we are late 20s / early 30s). We overheard one of the employees mentioning how they had recently lost several staff members, that someone else was cooking, etc. - didn't seem to affect anything from what we could tell!

Other than that, be sure to check out the Hocking Hills Dining Lodge for lunch and dinner - we had a really great lunch there. Hiking is a must - we saw Cedar Falls and Old Man's Cave. Can't wait to do it again!

Room Tip: I know the Sumac cottage is handicap friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acdandyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Your extensive review provided all the details...the comfy cottage, delicious meals (you ate them all), fun around the campfire (did you know that deer snort?), and purchases in the gift shop. But, the nicest compliment was about our staff and how gracious and caring they were. Thanks for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    86
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
44
337
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allison Park, PA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice enjoyable place. The grounds are so beautiful and the highlight with flowers, view, birds, gardens, plenty of green space. The restaurant is pricey but the food is excellent making the price worthwhile. The main restaurant is in a log cabin built in 1846, a dining experience not to miss. If your expecting to get a few work items finished, go else where. The cell services and WiFi are pathetic! But isn't that why your visiting such a place, to get away.

Staff are quite friendly and treat customers like a first class resort. If you want to spend some hard earned $$ to get away at a remote place. This is your place. Just don't forget your wallet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljohnson1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Next time you visit, check out the Fireside Lounge for wif-fi and cell phone service. The business center has computer use for our guests. Also, the rooms and cabins have wi-fi access.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. If you looked up tranquility in the dictionary.....you would find The Inn and Spa at Cedar Falls. We were In one of the cabins; which was down home rustic with modern conveniences. Breakfast was absolutely scrumptious, something for everyone, and no reason to leave the property for dinner as the food at the Inn was fabulous! Ellen our innkeeper was always around making sure that her guests were happy. Wonderful place to escape to, especially knowing that there isn't any cell service or wifi in the cabins......just peacefulness. When you want or need cell/wifi service, it is available in the main lodge. I also enjoyed my facial at the Spa......we will go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Delighted to hear you ate all your meals with us and they were top notch. Appreciate all the kind compliments about our staff. See you next round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This Inn is absolutely beautiful... so very serene!! We were there from Sept. 30-Oct. 2 with two close friends; we both stayed at cabins (Dogwood & Tree Top - great accommodations!).
Before we played some golf and enjoyed the colors of autumn, the ladies enjoyed an amazing facial massage.
In addition, the food is absolutely delectable and the staff was wonderful!!!
Many thanks for a wonderful stay and look forward to our next visit at this wonderful Inn.

Room Tip: The cabins are peaceful and are equipped with everything you can think of... just like home!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KACool1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
How perfect, the guys enjoyed a round of golf, while the ladies rejuvenated at the spa. Sounds like nice time for friends to spend uninterrupted time together. Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

During the past year, I've had two groups (10-20 folks each) for overnight retreats at the Inn at Cedar Falls. It was great. The accommodations are wonderful (great pillows), the food delicious (and served right on schedule by very kind people), the meeting room fully equipped, and the general site in the country is conducive to really getting away and focusing on the Bigger Thoughts. I'll be back whenever I can.

Room Tip: If you want ever greater privacy, ask about the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Glad we met all of your needs for your executive retreat! The Gathering Place was designed and created to for corporate meetings and events. Thanks for your repeat business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a beautiful place!! A great getaway to destress. Good for a quiet couple getaway as well as a friends getaway. Two girlfriends and I have rented the same cabin (Hickory Hollow) 7 years in a row. Every year we look forward to the quiet setting, tasty breakfast, awesome spa treatments, hiking the trails of Hocking Hills and just relaxing in the cabin or sitting the deck. They even have fresh made cookies waiting for you when you arrive in your room, cottage or cabin :)

They have a great fire pit area for evening fires plus hammocks and lawn chairs to spend some time reading a book or looking at the stars on a clear night.

We bring our own food to fix for lunch and dinner. The cabin has a refrigerator, oven/stove, and gas grill. The Inn Keepers and staff are friendly and helpful. Their gift shop is very nice too. We always leave relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated and look forward to our return.
We even reserve our dates for the next year when we check out.

If you entertain the thought of visiting during the winter months, I suggest that you do! Don't let the snow or cold keep you away!! My husband and I spent two nights at the Inn one February a few years ago. We arrived 2 days after a strong snow/ice storm had gone through the area. We hiked to Ash Falls and Cedar Falls. The ice sculptures that were created by the waterfalls were amazing!! Nature at it's finest :) The evening meal was as awesome as their breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 922kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
A girls getaway, what fun! Glad to hear you return again and again with them. And,bring your hubby for a visit too. Winter is favorite season of mine too. The frozen ice formations will be here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I finally had a chance to check out the Inn at Cedar Falls last weekend. I've been hearing and reading about the chef and the Inn and Spa since we arrived in Columbus five years ago. It was amazing - top to bottom! The food is delicious, the grounds are engaging and beautiful, the cabins are the perfect mix of rustic and well-appointed, the spa services were relaxing. We came in with high expectations and they were exceeded.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShilohTodorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Delighted that we met all your high expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Logan
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
9.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
22.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
22.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
23.6 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls

Property: The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Address: 21190 State Route 374, Logan, OH 43138-8845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Logan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hearty breakfast is included with every stay. Enjoy a fine dining experience in a relaxed setting after a long hike in the Hocking Hills. The restaurant is located on the Inn grounds in an 1840s log cabin. The kitchen is open style so guest may watch their meals being prepared. During the peak season months of spring until late fall, we are open from 11:30am until 1:30pm for lunch. During the winter months, we are only open on Saturdays and Sundays on holiday weekends. Dinner reservations are required and available from 5:30pm until 8:45pm. Reconnect with yourself with a relaxing spa treatment in our unique destination spa. Plan your next corporate retreat and business meeting in the Gathering Place with WIFI and all your AV needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn & Spa At Cedar Falls Hotel Logan
The Inn And Spa At Cedar Falls
The Inn & Spa At Cedar Falls Ohio/Logan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing