We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabins by the Caves
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Logan(Logan)(Great Value!)
$119
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Logan)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
49
18
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
18
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshillcrest lodgelincoln cabinthe barnolive branchwheel drivefire pitclean conditionthe kitchensatellite tvred foxlower leveloff the beaten pathhot tubhocking hillsthe grillbeds were very comfortableboard games
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 76 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Ten of us stayed in the Starry Night recently and we all enjoyed it very much! The cabin is amazing and so are the surrounding woods at this time of year! See photos. The location is secluded and quiet. We only saw about three vehicles on the road during our two-night stay.
The manager greeted us upon arrival to give a few instructions about the thermostat, tv/sattelite controls, the basement fireplace, and hot tub, and what to do with the keys upon departure.
The cabin was clean and ready for us, and everything worked as intended. The floor plan is well-suited for large groups, with space to get away if you need some quiet-time away from the group.
The water has a very mild flavor and aroma of sulphur. The aroma is stronger when the water is hot (shower, etc). None of us noticed it in the coffee and tea made with it, nor did the ice cubes made with it seem to change the flavor of any cold drinks However, you will want to bring bottled water for drinking..
Everyone in the group was impressed with the construction details, it is a truly beautiful log structure! We plan to return at our first opportunity!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aaron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabins8, Manager at Cabins by the Caves, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Starry Knight Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that your group enjoyed their recent stay. We hope that you will visit us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed there 2 nights. beautifully furnished. Expensive but has 4 bedrooms and 4 1/2 baths. Great hot tub surrounded by woods. Lower level (rec room) fireplace doesn't work properly and that room smelled smoky. Do NOT use Mapquest to locate, use hotel's directions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HAPPYTRAVELERDAYTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabins8, Manager at Cabins by the Caves, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you very much for taking a moment to provide your valuable feedback and for sharing your experience at the Starry Knight Lodge. It is our desire that you will return to visit Cabins by the Caves and the beautiful Hocking Hills. For future information, please note that our weekday rates for reservations Sunday-Thursday are greatly reduced from our weekend rates. For spur of the moment getaways and based on availability, we also offer last minute discounts. The lower level fireplace at the Starry Knight has been inspected and it is an operational fireplace. We do remind guests that the cabin is sealed very tightly (construction completed September 2011) and that a window or slider should be cracked while in use. We do extend our apololgies, on occassion we may have guests that forget. The cabin does offer alternative fireplaces on the first floor great room, and outside deck. We highly recommend that our guests use the directions provided to them at the time of reservation. MapQuest and GPS systems may not have the most current information or updates. Again, thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I wanted a cabin that was private, clean, quiet, and huge to accommodate 4 couples, 4 toddlers, and a teenager. That is exactly what we got. Huge cabin, lots of room to move about, very clean, air conditioned, huge deck, giant hot tub, super far from the main road, super dark at night... Awesome. The one thing that I don't get is that there is no type of yard area at all. The cabin is surrounded by gravel, enough to park 20 cars on, and surrounding that gravel is the woods... But there is no yard or patch of grass of any kind. If u wanna play frisbee or bocce or football or whatever, you have to do it on gravel. Because of the lack of a yard, The kids ended up playing on either the deck or this little stage they have in the back, neither ideal for 2-3 year olds who could potentially fall of the edge, so we were on our toes. Also, the fire pit area is on a 45 degree angle and also on gravel.

If they put enough grass on one side of the cabin for a game of badminton and leveled out the fire pit area, this would have been absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank forktie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Several of my family spent a night in the Hillcrest Lodge in December 2011 and really enjoyed it! Upon arrival it was clean and ready for us. Everything worked (heat, tv, appliances, etc), the fireplace was great, the hot tub was clean and enjoyable with five of us in it at once. The beds were very comfortable.

The cabin was tastefully decorated for christmas, including two small lighted trees and other decorations.

All of us loved it and agreed that we'd like to stay again sometime.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

It has been a yearly tradition to stay a winter night in a Hocking Hills cabin. Our first stay in the McKinley was everything we had hoped for. Secluded, comfortable, and cozy with the wood burning fireplace. The cabin was very clean and the leather sofa large and comfotable. TV was acceptable, and their was plenty of firewood.

I really can’t say enough good about the cabin.

Room Tip: The parking is a steep walk up from the cabin. We arrived after dark with a slippery trail down to the cabin.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobycolumbusOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews