We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun.”

Hocking Hills Adventures
Ranked #9 of 27 things to do in Logan
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The original canoe livery in the Hocking Hills offers the best trips by canoe, kayak, raft or tube. Special events include Romantic Moonlight tours and Torchlight tours. Camp along the secluded banks off the Hocking River or stay in a rustic cabin. Hocking Valley Canoe Livery also has special packages that include go-karts, miniature golf and horseback riding. We strive to exceed our guests expectations in providing memorable outdoor experiences that are FUN, SAFE and CLEAN.
Bedford, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Decent place to stay and canoe. The campsites are really close together and were really muddy when we went, but they're right next to the river which is nice. The "fun center" is across the street and then a short walk through the woods away, and it has mini golf and sodas and stuff. The canoe place is unfortunately a drive away from the campground and fun center. In general this place is exactly what you expect and makes for a fun summer weekend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    35
    23
    10
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelsonville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good time, but a little pricey”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Staff is friendly & professional. The River & surrounding areas are beautifully scenic. The prices are a little much, though. I go about once a year, but would go several times a year (river height permitting) if the price was more reasonable. The trips are good for both families w/ children as well as experienced paddlers. Price considered, it's always a good, fun time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BtrflyBlueStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneB195, Owner at Hocking Hills Adventures, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for the review, You will find that we have not raised our prices for most of our trips for 2013. Hope you will come back and enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Haunted canoe trip”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband took us on the haunted canoe trip for part of my birthday weekend. The idea of the haunted canoe ride is great. Unfortunately it did not live up to its potential. The characters were walking around in their costumes in the parking area before the trip so we saw every costume ahead of time. Totally takes the surprise out of it! (It didn't help that the costumes were very poor quality.)
The "scares" consisted of kids yelling. They could all be seen way down river, so there was no surprise. On the haunted hayride part of the trip, it was the same thing. Not a single scare, but unfortunately plenty of laughs.
They advertise a bonfire with s'mores, but if you're in the first group on the hayride, you leave way before the bonfire even gets going, so no s'mores for you!
This was truly a disappointment. I hope someone comes along and makes this into the event it could be. For now, I recommend finding another scary adventure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank buckigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneB195, Owner at Hocking Hills Adventures, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello I'm sorry you did not have a great time on Halloween on the Hocking. We plan to implement your feedback to continue to make Halloween on the Hocking a better trip.

Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great weather. Excellent service!!! Memorable canoe trip!! The staff was very helpful and accomodating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marshall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Full Moon Paddle”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Full Moon paddle was beautiful. Although the river was a little low in spots, it was definitely still navigable and to see the moon rise over the banks of the river was worth it! The folks at the Livery were so kind and nice - outstanding trip!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JAOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hocking Hills Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Hocking Hills Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing