We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
146
4
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
4
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homestead cabin eagles nest fire pit the kitchen music playing hot tub memory foam highly recommend the homestead my husband and i hocking hills beyond words scented candles perfect stay screened in porch romantic getaway filtered water spent one night
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 154 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

we went to the cabin for a girls retreat. one of my gf's surprised me and showed up for the day, the owner showed up at the door and was very angry that we didnt tell him that the extra person was coming. we had no idea that someone couldnt come and visit while we were at the cabin. he threatened to kick us out and accused us of "theft of services" it was an honest mistake but even after we said we would pay the extra he continued on yelling at us. we were not a bunch of kids partying we were a bunch of old ladies drinking wine and watching old movies. he ruined my weekend. on top of that our balance due was 489.00 and he charged my card 595.00 and now i cant get ahold of them. be wary when you rent from them. I have never been treated so badly and we have rented cabins in hocking almost every year.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SSW1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hickoryridgecabins, Owner at Cabins At Hickory Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We are sorry you had such a terrible weekend, but feel we need to address some of the issues in your complaint. In your reservation confirmation, it clearly states that if adding additional people to your stay, you need to notify us. Your reservation was initially for 2 people; when you add 2 more people, the rate goes up which is clearly stated on the webpage and in your confirmation. We do appreciate the fact that you did call us and let us know that there would be 4 instead of 2. Also included in your confirmation was that if additional people come to the cabin, there will be an additional charge (which we did not process) . Evidently someone in your group knew your friend was arriving and provided her with the directions to the cabin, which are provided in your confirmation only. We did not "yell" or threaten or accuse you. We have been in contact with you via email; but were not in the office at 9 pm when you called. We stand on our reputation and hope other viewers will read this and understand our point of view. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My son and I really enjoyed a short hiking trip to Hocking Hills and our overnight stay in the spotless Homestead cabin. Loved the woodsy setting, huge hot-tub, fire-pit (complete with skewers), comfy beds, AC, provisions (coffee, popcorn, sparkling wine, DVDs, numerous board games, stocked kitchen, bathrobes, nice toiletries, candles... to name a few), front-porch glider, flat-screen tv, etc. We enjoyed a 6-mile hike (Gatewood trail), Ashcave hike, lunch at Cedar Falls Inn and Spa, and take-out pizza from Pizza Crossing in Logan. The cabin was secluded, but in good proximity (15 min.) to restaurants, major highway, and hiking. Be aware of the steep stairs to bedrooms (no closets but lots of drawer space). Pack light. Bathroom is also located upstairs and must be accessed thru loft bedroom. Other bedroom has privacy door. Excellent choice if "glam-ping" in the area. Very relaxing.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrlandoTennisbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had a WONDERFUL time from the moment we walked in and were greeted w/the yummy smells to the time we left was just great! We had never been to a cabin before so we didn't really know what to expect but they LITERALLY have just about everything we could need/want as far as kitchen (utensils/plates/pans/cups), bathroom stuff (towels, wash clothes, etc), linen, dish soap, propane for the grill, etc. For a reasonable fee, they can also bring you wood and place it by the fire pit if you decide a fire is for you. Definately a great convenience. We were also fortunate enough to have time to get in the hot tub which was very peaceful and relaxing. LOVED the wrap around deck and grill. That weekend is definately a weekend we will remember. One of the best so far. :)

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alwaysmiling43062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My fiancée and I stayed 2 nights in the Homestead cabin. The cabin was beautiful, spacious, and offered many amenities. We also had the pleasure of meeting with the owners-they were so nice and it was evident that they take great pride with all their cabin properties. In addition, they pay attention to the details. We were welcomed by a lovely sign, candles throughout the cabin, music playing, chocolates and wine too! This was a fantastic getaway to de-stress from a busy semester:)

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ace_Schmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My mom, sister and I stayed last night (Sunday) in the Eagles Nest Lodge. It gave us the time, atmosphere and space that we needed to enjoy our time together. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need. We made steaks on the grill, and asparagus, baked potatoes and bread in the oven. Everything worked well. The hot tob was big enough for the 3 of us. The owners, Don and Ginny, make sure that everything is super clean and in working order. They go above and beyond by putting candles, books and games in almost every room. I would recommend this place to anyone!!!!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColumbusOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews