We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”

Hocking Hills State Park
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Logan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialty vacation rental cabins in Hocking Hills
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Very nice, relaxing park, we were there in March, not busy the off season. This place would be great in summer, fall, go see it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rockrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    972
    196
    36
    4
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batesville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hiking”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was our 5th time visiting and it is our favorite place to hike. It is such a beautiful park and there is so much to see. We wish we would of found out about it a long time ago. There is a variety of caves, water falls and so much more. The park is pretty spread out and you have to drive several miles to get to some parts but it is well worth the drive. There is a variety of trails so there is something for everyone. We have always stayed with Getaway Cabins when we go and they have always taken good care of us. They make sure we are aware what is going on and have directions for all areas of the park.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“An Ohio Icy Wonderland”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We came here during a weekend trip to Columbus. The weather was a crisp just-below-freezing and we had some qualms about making the trek. It's about 55 miles each way but we found the freeways easy to navigate and the road to the park itself was simple to follow right to the main attraction, Old Man's Cave. How happy we were when we began the trail. It has three parts... Upper and lower falls and the cave itself.
We learned it was named after a hermit who moved and lived there in the early 18th century with his two hounds. We also learned why it is one of the most popular attractions in Ohio. It's gorgeous!! We saw the falls frozen in formation, an arched bridge, rolling creeks, little tunnels through the rocks.... Everything that makes a wonderful afternoon. Go, go, go!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pma03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ohio's Most Beautiful "Attraction"”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have visited Hocking Hills numerous times over the past 15 years, and each time I see something I hadn't noticed the time before. So many people recognize "Old Man's Cave" when they hear it, but there is so much more! Ash Cave is so accessible, and easy to hike. Cedar Falls, Rock House, Conkle's Hollow, Cantwell Cliffs are all equally mesmerizing and have their own unique features. You don't have to be an avid hiker to enjoy walking through these places in the Park. You can canoe, kayak, tube, zipline, have awesome campfires whether you're camping or staying in a cabin or B&B. The beauty is unmatched, as far as I am concerned, anywhere else in Ohio, or surrounding states. We have visited all four seasons and each has special things to offer. The village of Logan has grown so much, with a very nice Kroger, Super Wal-Mart, and plenty of eating places. The Hocking Hills State Park is suitable for families of all ages, as well as couples, or girlfriend get-aways, guys who just want to fish, ANYONE! Just an awesome place to visit. LOVE IT!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grammy7Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Woodland Way, Good Earth Cabins - Winter Wonderland”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I were married in The Hocking Hills almost 5 years ago, so this place has a special connection to my heart and we try to make it down that way at least once a year.

This trip was our second time staying with Good Earth Cabins in Hocking Hills, and again I am extremely impressed.

We arrived at the Woodland Way cabin just after an ice storm had been in the region. The snow we have had this year made travel up to the cabin difficult as the roads were a bit treacherous, but once we stepped inside the difficult trip became all worth it.

Woodland way is decorated primitive/country style, featuring several paintings and prints by folk artist, Billy Jacobs, whose work I love. There were so many sweet touches and darling things to look at that it is impossible to mention them all - but I can assure you, you will be impressed by not only the decorator's touches but also the cleanliness of the cabin.

The cabin features two bedrooms, with quilts on the beds and nicely appointed furnishings.

The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove, coffee maker, fridge, and a collection of pots and pans, dishes, silverware, bowls, etc. that should suit your needs for almost anything you want to cook or bake during your stay. There is also a gas grill on the porch.

The great room features a beautiful stone fireplace that is large enough to keep the entire cabin warm and inviting. There is also a large picture window that offers a great view for wildlife viewing. At first I was disappointed because the first day we saw nothing (except our own great Pyrenees – gentle giant, yes the cabin is PET FRIENDLY : ) ) But on day two we saw six wild turkeys coming up the driveway and then got to see them fly up and find perches in the trees and then they all seemed to fly away. It was a spectacular sight.

There is also a selection of games and movies, and even some books for relaxing time.

Hot Tub: Speaking of relaxing - the back deck where the hot tub is located is extremely private - you feel like you are sitting in a hot tub alone in the woods. Our first day we were there the trees were still iced over and the sun was shining. I am a writer and I can barely describe the view – it was beyond words. Later, during our stay, we hit the hot tub in the evening, with the moon shining down through the trees – it was beautiful.

On our last day, there was a level two snow advisory, and if you have ever traveled down State Route 664, you know that is serious business in this area, so we decided to contact Good Earth and see if perhaps we could stay over another night – Fonda was so sweet and said no problem. So we got to enjoy another day in the snowy peaceful paradise.

We got stuck just as we turned out of the driveway, but we weren’t there for too long before two gentlemen came along and helped push us out. So all is well that ends well.

Know before you go:

• Woodland Way is very private and peaceful.
• Trails surround the cabin for walking
• Smaller in size it is a perfect setting for a couple or small family.
• DirectTV
• No internet, but we have broadband to go, you could also port through your Smartphone.
• An extra blanket can be found in the storage chest in the great room
• Pet Friendly
• Reasonably priced - And Good Earth Cabins offers discounts on their website all of the time.
• Clean, Clean, Clean – the cleaning crew with Good Earth Cabins does a great job.
• There are a washer and dryer on site.
I would recommend both Woodland Way and Good Earth Cabins.

Woodland Way Cabin offers everything you need if you are seeking a private getaway to recharge your batteries and reconnect with your Honey : ).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HeartandSoulTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hocking Hills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hocking Hills State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing