We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Lima has needed”
Review of The Met

The Met
Ranked #2 of 158 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
lima
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What Lima has needed”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Born, raised, and now living in Lima, I can tell you that this restaurant has been a game changer for me and my wife. We love to try the craft beer selection, chat with the staff, meet up with friends/co-workers here and enjoy the feeling of a quality establishment. Rob and Jenna care about their customers, they remember past conversations that we have had, and it's more than a manager coming and asking "how is everything". It's more like "How was your trip to.....," and they are genuinely interested. They also recently changed the corking fee to 5 bucks from 10, and had a no-cork fee selection that you pay just the price of the wine. I love this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    29
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little Slice of Heaven!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I have started treating ourselves to this place once a month or so. We have a three year old and when we have a date night with out our girl we find ourselves here more and more frequently. Hands down, the best thing I have ever ate is the Bread Pudding made with Lima's very own Melo-creme donuts, and it has a syrup made with Maple Crown Royal. The last two times we've been there we have gotten the alsatian pizza and there amazing hamburger. Soooooo GOOD! Oh and don't even get me started on the beer selection, 10 beers on draft and everyone is a craft or microbrew beer. You won't be disappointed here, the best part is the pricing is extremely cheap for the cuisine. If you were to eat food like this in Chicago or Columbus you would pay much more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great wine-great atmosphere!!'”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Our server was from South Africa and recommended some wonderful S. African wines. Entertainment is also an attraction. Highly recommend if you are in Lima, OH.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 21traveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphos, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best New Place in Lima”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Love the atmosphere & small plates. Great wine selection. The best salads around. I've had the sea scallops & risotto several times. I feel like I'm in Chicago when I'm there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank orode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best in Lima - hands down”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The MET is a class act: good food/drink - friendly service - and reasonable prices.

Everyone should adopt a bar once in their life. You can only adopt a bar if you go there several times per week, know the staff by name, and they know you just as well. The MET is such a place - and if someone spoke poorly of her around me, they better be ready for a fight.

Great wine selection, although I prefer my wine made with hops and barley. Ask for Jenna, and she will steer you towards a wine that will become your favorite. 9 craft beers on tap from all over the world, and dozens more in bottles. True gourmet food - small plates, but great flavor. My favorites are their chicken and artichoke pizza, firecracker peppers appetizer, and their scallops with mushroom risotto - magnifique !!

The decor is casual and relaxing - there are couches for the posture-challenged, a large community table for groups, and intimate tables for two, crafted from old radiators by the very talented Rueben Gibson. His custom made one piece bar made from copper is beautiful.

This place is hard to leave, but easy to return to...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank phizbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Met? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing