We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lima's Gem”

Allen County Museum
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lima's Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to other museums and nothing holds up like Allen County. I am amazed when I run into people that have never been there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This Museum is very large it will take at least 3 hours to go through. there are 3 floors of things to see. there is a hands on area for children, lots of history items, model railroad tracts. plus for $3.00 you get to tour the MacDonnell house which is beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteE829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Visited this museum some time ago on my many trips to Lima. Even my little grandaughter was able to follow about the history of the local and surrounding areas.
Staff were very informative and children well catered for.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KenPMildenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kids love this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Like that there is a children's museum also. Many interactive things for the kids. The newer addition is all about trains. Love that you can see the train from the window when driving by. Also the John Dillinger exhibit is interesting and very informative. The gem collection is gorgeous. Also enjoy seeing the Easter Straker Birthday Chair, ok probably because I vaguely remember sitting in that birthday chair as a kid and digging in for a handful of change :-) Christmas Tree Festival is a must see, as there are so many decorated trees from around the community and even a talking evergreen. The log cabin is cool, love when the cook in the cabin. Right next to the Children's Garden, Ronald MacDonald House and Library.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“No other museum like it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is one of the most surprising little museums I've ever visited. Admittedly, the museum is sort of random -- it's one of those sort of quirky places where there's a little bit of everything, but several of those things are really, really cool, and a few of them are absolutely unique. We enjoyed the enormous dollhouse recreation of Mount Vernon, and the exhibit related to John Dillinger's escape from the Allen County jail was very well done. The display of objects removed from people's various orifices by a local surgeon over his long career was a little disappointing. But the real reason to visit the Allen County Museum is the fabulous and bizarre display of taxidermied specimens, including an animated dioarama of the Noah's ark story. There's nothing like it anywhere else, and it would have been worth a medium admission price. But admission is free! I love this museum, and view it as one of the most underappreciated little gems in the Midwest -- I have recommended it to all my friends. It was one of the best things my daughter and I saw on our little road trip through Michigan, Ohio, and Kentucky!
Plan on at least an hour or two, but you could easily spend an afternoon. The hours are a little limited, so be sure to call in advance and find out.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nettiepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allen County Museum also viewed

 

Been to Allen County Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing