We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best HoJo that I've ever experienced!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lima
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best HoJo that I've ever experienced!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was very impressed by this property. Not new, but well maintained, decorated, and very clean. Property features an atrium with pool, sauna and recreation area. I had a room with a wonderful balcony over the atrium which is beautifully lit at night. Room was very clean down to the spotless mirrors over the desk and glass doors and windows on the balcony. Ref and microwave in the room with a mini store in the lobby. I did not expect such a property for an overnight stop on I-75.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JL1707, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Lima, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for the GREAT review! Please stop by again the next time you are traveling on I-75.
Jeff Lee – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    184
    76
    27
    10
See reviews for
231
122
29
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice Motel Enjoyed Stay TV could have been better.clean, quiet next to good restaurants . Be glad when road construction done

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JL1707, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Lima, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m sorry that you did not enjoy TV’s. All of our rooms do feature a 42 inch HDTV with over 60 channels. If there is a channel that you would like to see please let us know and we may be able to add it to our line up. Look forward to seeing you again at our hotel and hopefully next time you stay the construction will be finished.
Jeff Lee – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We chose this hotel because we were traveling from Virginia to Michigan and was a good halfway point. But you can do much better!! There are many other hotels nearby. The Marriott was next door, and I was wishing we had stayed there.
THE WORST PART:
I was eating a salad at the desk, and my one year old put something in his mouth. I thought maybe a piece of the salad had fallen on the floor, but I wasn't sure, so I got it out of his mouth, and "it" was a stranger's BIG TOENAIL!! My son was eating a huge, crusty toenail which he had found on the floor!! I almost threw up and definitely lost my appetite after that. told the front desk the next morning (and showed her the photo of it) and she said it was disgusting and gave us a $15 rebate. But $15 for your kid to eat a toenail? This isn't fear factor or anything where you want to do disgusting stuff for money but if I had to put a price on it, I'd say it was at least worth half a night's stay!!
My husband requested a pack-n-play or crib at check-in, and after waiting over an hour with no service, I called the front desk and she brought one. When you're arriving at 9:00 pm and traveling with a cranky baby, any amount of time waiting is not good, but over an hour is just awful.
Also the pool's hours are weird because they have "adult only" swim from 9-10 pm because it is in the lobby area and I guess they are trying to keep quiet hours. But it was a disappointment since the pool was one of the reasons my husband chose this hotel and we arrived right at 9 so by the time we were checked in, my daughter was unable to enjoy the pool.
Breakfast was alright; muffins, biscuits and gravy, cereal, waffle maker, and apples. But still didn't have much of an appetite after the toenail incident.
Very disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thephotograpfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JL1707, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Lima, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel. I value all feedback from our guests. Hearing from our guests gives us the opportunity to improve the level of service we provide. We strive to provide each guest with the best hotel experience possible. I sounds like we fell short of our goal on this occasion. My staff and myself are embarrassed that this happened at our hotel. I hope that next time you are passing through town that you stay with us again, and give us a chance to make this up to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Lima
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lima East
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lima
Hampton Inn Lima
#2 of 15 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lima Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Lima
Courtyard Lima
#6 of 15 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lima

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Lima
Address: 1920 Roschman Ave, Lima, OH 45804-3444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lima
#3 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lima 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Howard Johnson in picturesque Northwest Ohio - where our modern facilities and our hometown staff create an atmosphere of comfort and luxury. In addition to comfort and luxury, we have a host of indoor property amenities for your enjoyment. Our indoor recreation center offers something for everyone with a heated pool, whirlpool, game room, billiards, table tennis, exercise room, and indoor playground.Spoil yourself at our Breakfast Cafe where you will enjoy a distinctive Hot breakfast experience. Visit the Pizza Lounge nightly for cold drinks,Great Pizza,and Nightly Specials ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Lima Hotel Lima
Howard Johnson Inn Lima Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing