We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming for a price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden Lamb Restaurant

The Golden Lamb Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Golden Lamb Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Lebanon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: The Golden Lamb is recognized as the oldest continuously operating business in the State of Ohio. On December 23, 1803, Jonas Seaman spent $4 for a license to operate a "house of Public Entertainment." The Golden Lamb got its name due to the fact that many early pioneers could not read, so giving a business a name that could be easily drawn and recognized, such as the Black Horse or Golden Lamb, was a necessity.The brick building where the Golden Lamb moved to and currently resides was built in 1815. The original building was a two story structure located where our lobby area and Dickens dining room currently stand. In 1844 a third story was added. Shortly after, in 1854 a three story wing was added which is where our Shaker and Buckeye room dining rooms currently stand. In 1878, a fourth story was added to accomodate the workers who would bring the railroad to Lebanon. The gift shop and Black Horse Tavern were added to the structure in 1964.The Golden Lamb was visited by so many prominent guests in the early 1800's because it was located halfway between Cincinnati and the National Road (U.S. 40). Robert H. Jones' ownership of the property beginning in 1926 marked the transformation of the old hotel into the great attraction and marvelous restaurant it is today. Under their guidance, the inn's great reputation became well known throughout the country. Their ownership also marked the restoration of the hotel to its original name, The Golden Lamb.
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming for a price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We usually only go here because someone else wants to try it. It is charming, yet expensive. I have never been impressed with the quality of the food. It is a nice place to "dine".

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrannyBarb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    117
    53
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Black Horse Tavern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Well, the Black Horse Tavern is the more casual restaurant in the back of the Golden Lamb, but don't let its location make you think that it's an after-thought. The menu is very good and changes seasonally, but hands down, the best thing on there (in my humble opinion) is the salmon sandwich. I don't know what the condiment is, but it literally "makes" this sandwich. I've also tried the prime rib sandwich, and everyone laughed upon its delivery to the table because it was literally 3+ inches thick. They have a great house manager, Chris, who also organizes beer dinners every month. It gives the chef the opportunity to cook with the micro-brews and incorporate them creatively into a 4-course meal. Seriously, it's great and I would recommend anyone check it out sometime--cheers

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ohio history tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place is great because they encourage you to walk around to see some of the open historic guest rooms, view the various dining rooms on the first two floors and see the photos and other memorabilia hanging on the walls everywhere. We dined in the Black Horse Tavern which is at the rear of the restaurant, a newer part of the building. The food was nice as expected. We wished the server would have been more attentive, even had to track her down to pay the bill even though we were the only people in the tavern at the time. We would go again because this place is such a treat. .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank red7557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Six family members enjoyed a late dinner on New Years Eve, 2013.
We had 3 appetizers, all great, and each ordered a different entree.
All six entrees were outstanding. Becky, our server, gave us top quality service. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area who wants a great dining experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio
1 review
“New chef or too many tables for the kitchen?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My last review was glowing but sadly this one is less than. We stayed overnight so that we didn't have to worry about splitting a bottle of wine. We were given the dinner included in the package. The place was booked with large parties so the food had the feel of mass produced wedding fare. The prime rib was supposed to have a peppercorn au jus but tasted like it came out of a can w/out a hint of peppercorn. (Would've been better w/out) The small ramekin of mac& cheese was inedible, as it was like licking a salt cube. The salmon was average w/a bland rice pilaf. The creme brulee seemed to have been sitting about for while. The appetizer and wine were good. The server was nice. The atmosphere was festive but the kitchen seemed overwhelmed w/the number of patrons. The front desk was friendly & the room was clean. Without venturing into the realm of TMI, suffice it to say that the restroom was over used due to something that was consumed. Enough said. This will be probably our last visit as I think that they are trying to accommodate too many customers and sacrificing quality. Really sorry that I don't have better things to say about our visit.I want to like them, for old times' sake.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lamb Restaurant also viewed

Lebanon, Warren County
Lebanon, Warren County
 
Lebanon, Warren County
Lebanon, Warren County
 

Been to The Golden Lamb Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing