We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A novel historical Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Golden Lamb Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Lebanon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A novel historical Inn”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is a very novel Inn that offers a unique and historical experience.

*Rooms that famous people have stayed in such as Charles Dickens, Mark Twain, and over 13 Presidents of the United States
*Unique feel and style to the rooms that offer many antiques
*Tavern downstairs, which means it is safe to drink and then return to your room without having to worry about driving
*Romantic - nice couples retreat
*Lots of shopping and food in walking distance

Downside...
*Lots of tourists walk around the halls looking at the rooms, be certain to lock your door
*The rooms are on the small size
*The bathrooms are on the small size
*The food and drinks on the first floor are a little bit pricey
*I dont think there is wifi
*Not somewhere I would bring children - this is certainly an adult setting

Room Tip: Not for kids - this is an adult retreat. Get a room on the 3rd or 4th floor for better privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    49
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
75
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Golden Lamb Inn in Lebannon OH. Yes, we would stay there again. Historical Inn, oldest in Ohio, so don't expect hot tubs, swimming pool, an elevator. Do expect privacy, a step back in history, a great staff, comfortable bed and large, private bathroom. Second floor balcony was a perfect place to spend a warm evening.

We would not recommend the restaurant. Although the food was good, but not exceptional, it was very overpriced. Complimentary coffee was not offered so we had to pay over four dollars for two coffees from the Tavern after the evening meal. Complimentary continental breakfast was good, but there was not hot food.

We would highly recommend The Golden Lamb Inn for a historical getaway.
Each room is named for a famous historical figure who has visited the Golden Lamb. You can request the room you would like by name.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others, some are quieter, some have better views. Call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sknej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had a small reunion of Miami University, Oxford, OH classmates and our stay was very nice. The town is only about 30minutes from Oxford. The rooms were gorgeous and we really liked the antique furniture and appreciated the 200+year-old building. The staff were always really helpful. We reserved two rooms and one room had a sitting room attached and this was really nice for our group of 4 to stay up late and visit. Our trip was in the middle of a summer heat wave but the building was nice and cool everywhere. We ate at the bar once and at the restaurant. All the food we had was marvelous and reasonably priced. I had grilled sea scallops and they were delicious. We loved the rolls and apple butter. Much better than staying in an ordinary hotel/motel. I am really picky about hotels and except for some old blinds in our bathroom everything was really clean. Beds were firm and comfortable. We would all recommend this place to stay overnight and to dine in a quaint and historic Ohio town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
514 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I spent Saturday evening here after a visit to the Taft Museum and the Cincinnatti Art Museum.
Spacious, clean, tastefully decorated room...Mark Twain/Samuel Clemons
Visited a couple of antique shops before closing
Then dined here as well
Overall...a very positive experience

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

When you first walk in the lobby the old charm makes you gasp, it is so quaint and well maintained. Each room is named after the famous person who slept there, such as Mark Twain and many presidents. It is the oldest inn in Ohio. We had the James Garfield room. The bathrooms have been updated, plenty of towels, television, and dresser space. Unlike many b&b's, you don't have to use a bathroom down the hall to get this level of historic charm. The rooms are well decorated with period furnishings, the floors creak and remind you of grandma's house. The carpeting is pristine, I did not mind walking barefoot unlike any other hotel I have been in. The mattresses were memory foam and I did not like it, but it is a personal preference. Highly recommend experiencing this beautiful inn and the town is like a village with a shops and older homes lining the main streets.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deboroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Spent the night after an having an event in the dining room - how convenient is that? We were in the Samuel Clemens room. Fun to peek in the other historic rooms. The inn was decorated pretty for Christmas. Be aware there is no elevator. The only negative thing was the continental breakfast was disorganized - no coffee! The Lebanon downtown area has nice shops to visit during your stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Checked in Friday afternoon, no reservation. Early Saturday morning asked at desk if we could stay another night. Told that was fine. Spent the day enjoying town. Got back to room at 5:00 pm. All our belongings gone. Note on bed "Come to front desk". A regular guest wanted our room, so manager decided to relocate us to top floor, small bed (for 2 large people), no AC, not a room people regularly stayed in. Without our knowledge or consent, moved everything to top floor. I could not believe it. Manager did not care. During dinner with a lobby full of people, waited for busboy to bring things to us. Bags not closed, underwear hanging out. It was extremely embarrassing. Went to Holiday Inn 30 minutes away. Was told what Golden Lamb did was illegal. There were items missing from our luggage. Threatened to call state police if they didn't bring our belongings to us. Manager did not care. I still "can't believe" the treatment from this place. Maybe this was a unique case, but speaks to the lack of concern and horrible customer service.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank walterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lebanon
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 5 in Middletown
355 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cincinnati - Kings Island
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Mason
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Best Western Mason Inn
7.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Middletown Franklin
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites - Kings Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lamb Inn

Property: The Golden Lamb Inn
Address: 27 S Broadway St, Lebanon, OH 45036-1705
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Lebanon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lebanon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Lamb Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Golden Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Lamb Hotel Lebanon
The Golden Lamb Bed Breakfast
Golden Lamb
The Golden Lamb Inn Lebanon, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing