We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of The Ridge Inn

The Ridge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kent, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a trip to the Hocking Hills area. After reading reviews online we stopped at the The Ridge Inn for dinner our first night. The food was amazing! So great that we ended up there two more times during our stay. You have to try one of their donuts there are not like any glazed donut I have had before. The staff was so nice and helpful. This is a must stop if you are in the area

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    38
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly folks and really good food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

For a small town, the food is superb. Many individual creations from the chef, and they are willing to help with small children. A wonderful dining experience close to the Hocking Hills in southern Ohio.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service and the best donuts ever!!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a romantic getaway in Hocking Hills. We stopped at The Ridge Inn for lunch since we were too early to check into our cabin. We were quite surprised to see such a beautiful restaurant in a small town! The waitress was super friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and then we tried the donuts, which were the best glazed donuts we ever had!! In fact, we took donuts to go and decided to try the cinnamon donut bites. What a treat we had that evening!! The next day we went back for dinner and were not disappointed. They have great soup too! If you go, you must try the corn nuggets as an appetizer. Besides great food and service, it is clean and cheerful. This is a place you don't want to pass up!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank genejudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“In Laurelville? Who knew?!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I hadn't been in the little town of Laurelville for many years, so on our way home from the Hocking Hills, we were delighted to find this attractive restaurant for lunch. The menu offers a wide variety of dishes, and we couldn't do it justice after two days of serious eating at the Inn at Cedar Falls. However, we both thought the soups were outstanding - my husband's tomato bisque and my amazing mushroom/brie - possibly the best mushroom soup I've ever eaten. Mine was served with a tossed salad (good mixture of fresh greens) and his with a chicken salad sandwich. Since we were there on a Friday, homemade DONUTS were available, and we took home a half-dozen as a special treat. (They really do beat those served in chain stores!) Our server, Ria, took excellent care of us, and we had a delightful chat with him at the end of our meal. We've already recommended the restaurant to friends who visit the Hocking Hills several times a year, and we plan to stop in again, too.

While The Ridge Inn was perfect for our light lunch, a hungrier diner could choose from a wide range of sandwiches, wraps, burgers, salads, and entrees. There are also some additional weekend dinner options that sound pretty appealing: Every Friday night is Steak Night, and on the second Saturday of each month the restaurant offers dinner specials along with live piano music.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The front desk clerk at the Inn at Cedar Falls suggested we take a drive along Thompson Rd. Locally it is known as Thompson Ridge Rd and it runs from Rock House State Park to Laurelville. We were told to stop in at The Ridge Inn for lunch if we were hungry. After hiking back into Conkles Hollow State Nature Preserve in the rain and snow, we were ready for a nice drive and a warm lunch. The views from Thompson Rd. are quite lovely and probably more scenic when it isn't snowing. We did stop at The Ridge Inn for lunch around 3-4 p.m. We ordered grilled cheese sandwiches and clam chowder. The food and service were very good. We will go back because we heard they are very well known for their delicious donuts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing