We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”
Review of Ash Ridge Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laurelville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ash Ridge Cabins
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hocking Hills region is close enough to Columbus, that I am able to visit 1-2 times a year. Following some cabin stays that were sufficient to good, we happened upon these VIA web searching. Look no further. The cabins are maintained flawlessly. The location is excellent. The owners are wonderful innkeepers.

Room Tip: Of the cabins on the property, we have stayed in the Lovers Loft ,a cabin that can sleep up to 5-6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I have been guests of Julie and Joshua at Ash Ridge Cabins twice now. Each time we have been more then impressed with the cabins, the hospitality, and "extras" we found such as the cinnamon rolls and the "dollar game". I simply cannot recommend them enough. With a location close to all attractions in the hocking area its easy to schedule hiking, zip lines, fancy dinners, ect with no problem. The cabins are VERY nice inside and out. Don't think these are just some old cabin in the woods. Ash Ridge cabins offer a private setting, camp fire space, hot tub, satellite tv, and more to enjoy when recovering from a long day of hiking. If you are planning for a trip to the Hocking Hills area there is no better place to stay then Ash Ridge.

Room Tip: Pick a cabin, there all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssbrubaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband & I stayed for two nights to get away from the bustle of Columbus without spending a fortune, and we had such an amazing time, we're already planning our anniversary at the Lover's Loft cabin! I searched for hours on the Internet and ended up choosing Ash Ridge for 1. the pictures 2. the fact that the owners maintain only 3 cabins, instead of 30 like other places. This must allow them the flexibility to have all those little extras the others don't offer, and for keeping the cabin clean and cozy :)
Here's the perks: The beds are SO comfy! Burning candle & music upon entering. Everything you could need for utensils, including skewers for marshmallows, candle lighters, card games, etc. Free coffee, hot chocolate & tea :) The option to purchase amazing homemade candles, soaps etc right from your kitchen. and much much more
Thank you Julie & Joshua for providing such an excellent and romantic cabin :)

Room Tip: Make sure you have 4wheel drive if going up the slope in icy weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Our family stayed here in July 2011, and it was a wonderful experience. Ash Ridge doesn't charge extra for children, which was a nice perk. We stayed in the Maple Lane Cabin, which is secluded at the top of a ridge -- there was wildlife all around, and although they have three other cabins on their property, we felt absolutely secluded.
When we entered the cabin, scented candles were burning, music was playing, and we felt like we had entered paradise! The cabin is lovely, with great view from the back porch. The bird feeder attracted several types of birds and a very friendly squirrel! The fire pit with chairs located beside the cabin was great, and Josh and Julie have good firewood available for a very reasonable cost.
There is a full kitchen and charcoal grill available for cooking, and there are games available to play, as well as a DVD library for borrowing if you desire. The hot tub on the back porch has a beautiful view, and it was CLEAN!!
This is the cleanest, most beautiful cabin we've ever stayed in. Josh, Julie, and their junior staff have created the perfect atmosphere for a peaceful getaway. The attractions of Hocking Hills are just minutes away, but Ash Ridge is a real private haven. I can't say enough good things about this family owned enterprise -- they really get it right!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anidoc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This cabin was so nice, it smelled great and was very very clean. I looked all over the internet trying to find a cabin that didn't charge a nightly fee for children. Ashridge was the only place I could find. We loved the location, the local grocery store definitely had that small town feeling. The cabin had everything available you needed to cook. I was suprised at how much stuff was available. It made our stay much more enjoyable, knowing we didn't have to pack like we were camping. My only complaint would be the water. It tastes really bad and is actually cloudy. The toilet will have a dirt film in the bowl after a few hours. I recommended to Josh and Julie to get a sediment filter to trap the dirt particles and make the water more appealing. A softener would probably help as well. I grew up on sulfer water and our current home uses well water, so I figure if I couldn't drink the water at the cabin it has to be pretty bad. All in all this was a great place to stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua F, Owner at Ash Ridge Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thanks so much for your nice comments, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay!

Our Cuddle Bug Cottage, where you stayed, is on a totally separate well water source than our other cabins, we have never had any water quality issues at our other cabins. As you noticed during your stay, we have had some issues with the quality of the water at the Cuddle Bug. There's plenty of water, but the quality has been inconsistent, sometimes it is crystal clear and fine, and other times it gets cloudy and has a mineral smell. It has been on a water softener since we started renting the Cuddle Bug to guests in 2009, but at certain times of the year (particularly a few days after a heavy rain), it still will get a bit cloudy, have some sediment in it and have some mineral smell. Last Summer soon after your stay we had a professional well service come and clean out the well, and that helped the sediment issue quite a bit, but it's still not at the optimal level we would prefer, so we currently are on schedule to have a sediment filter installed at the Cuddle Bug sometime in the next few weeks.

We appreciate your feedback very much. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back again with us at some time in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I traveled here for an anniversary trip. Ash Ridge provided good deals for stays during the winter months. The owners were very accomodating. They provided assistance with our luggage and drive to the cabin. They also made themselves available to any questions or issues (not that we had any) and they helped promptly. The cabin itself seemed like it was cut out of a magazine. It had music playing when we walked in, it smelled like the winter holidays, and had a great view of the hills and woods.

We went on various hikes and walks, ate out, and explored the area. The cabin was very welcoming every time we came back. Perfect spot to get away for a while and chill. Only rough part was the drive to the top of the hill to reach our cabin. It definately requires four-wheel drive in any ice/snow conditions. Our car couldn't make it. But the owners were more than willing to give us a drive to the top.

Highly reccomend this place. We plan on returning again sometime.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelwithwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We have stay four times, all in August. We will continue for as long as. We tnink the hosts are fabulous, the cabin is wonderful, the area is perfect.
THANK YOU Julie & Josh!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HyWyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ash Ridge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Ridge Cabins

Address: 17171 Sam Carr Rd, Laurelville, OH 43135-9517
Location: United States > Ohio > Laurelville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Laurelville
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash Ridge Cabins is located on a beautiful 19 acre property. Our 3 real Log cabins - the Sweet Heart, Maple Lane and Lovers Loft - are situated on wooded ridge overlooking the scenic and beautiful Laurel Valley in southeast Ohio's beautiful Hocking Hills Region. Our Cuddle Bug Cottage is situated in a serene, peaceful valley with towering, wooded hills all around.All of our cabins have private hot tubs and gas-log fireplaces, are furnished with Amish custom-built, beautiful log furniture, have Queen or King size beds, are charmingly decorated, most have gorgeous cathedral ceilings and all have all the amenities of home, including 3 with DirecTV satellite with over 120 channels.We are an easy drive to all of the popular attractions in the Hocking Hills State Park such as Rock House, Conkle's Hollow, Old Man's Cave, Cedar Falls and Ash Cave, with great hiking trails and awesome caves and waterfalls. Fall scenery in the Hocking Hills area is hard to beat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ash Ridge Cabins Ohio/Laurelville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing