We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST. CABIN. EVER!”
Review of Ash Ridge Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laurelville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ash Ridge Cabins
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST. CABIN. EVER!”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Our family stayed here in July 2011, and it was a wonderful experience. Ash Ridge doesn't charge extra for children, which was a nice perk. We stayed in the Maple Lane Cabin, which is secluded at the top of a ridge -- there was wildlife all around, and although they have three other cabins on their property, we felt absolutely secluded.
When we entered the cabin, scented candles were burning, music was playing, and we felt like we had entered paradise! The cabin is lovely, with great view from the back porch. The bird feeder attracted several types of birds and a very friendly squirrel! The fire pit with chairs located beside the cabin was great, and Josh and Julie have good firewood available for a very reasonable cost.
There is a full kitchen and charcoal grill available for cooking, and there are games available to play, as well as a DVD library for borrowing if you desire. The hot tub on the back porch has a beautiful view, and it was CLEAN!!
This is the cleanest, most beautiful cabin we've ever stayed in. Josh, Julie, and their junior staff have created the perfect atmosphere for a peaceful getaway. The attractions of Hocking Hills are just minutes away, but Ash Ridge is a real private haven. I can't say enough good things about this family owned enterprise -- they really get it right!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anidoc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This cabin was so nice, it smelled great and was very very clean. I looked all over the internet trying to find a cabin that didn't charge a nightly fee for children. Ashridge was the only place I could find. We loved the location, the local grocery store definitely had that small town feeling. The cabin had everything available you needed to cook. I was suprised at how much stuff was available. It made our stay much more enjoyable, knowing we didn't have to pack like we were camping. My only complaint would be the water. It tastes really bad and is actually cloudy. The toilet will have a dirt film in the bowl after a few hours. I recommended to Josh and Julie to get a sediment filter to trap the dirt particles and make the water more appealing. A softener would probably help as well. I grew up on sulfer water and our current home uses well water, so I figure if I couldn't drink the water at the cabin it has to be pretty bad. All in all this was a great place to stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua F, Owner at Ash Ridge Cabins, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thanks so much for your nice comments, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay!

Our Cuddle Bug Cottage, where you stayed, is on a totally separate well water source than our other cabins, we have never had any water quality issues at our other cabins. As you noticed during your stay, we have had some issues with the quality of the water at the Cuddle Bug. There's plenty of water, but the quality has been inconsistent, sometimes it is crystal clear and fine, and other times it gets cloudy and has a mineral smell. It has been on a water softener since we started renting the Cuddle Bug to guests in 2009, but at certain times of the year (particularly a few days after a heavy rain), it still will get a bit cloudy, have some sediment in it and have some mineral smell. Last Summer soon after your stay we had a professional well service come and clean out the well, and that helped the sediment issue quite a bit, but it's still not at the optimal level we would prefer, so we currently are on schedule to have a sediment filter installed at the Cuddle Bug sometime in the next few weeks.

We appreciate your feedback very much. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back again with us at some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I traveled here for an anniversary trip. Ash Ridge provided good deals for stays during the winter months. The owners were very accomodating. They provided assistance with our luggage and drive to the cabin. They also made themselves available to any questions or issues (not that we had any) and they helped promptly. The cabin itself seemed like it was cut out of a magazine. It had music playing when we walked in, it smelled like the winter holidays, and had a great view of the hills and woods.

We went on various hikes and walks, ate out, and explored the area. The cabin was very welcoming every time we came back. Perfect spot to get away for a while and chill. Only rough part was the drive to the top of the hill to reach our cabin. It definately requires four-wheel drive in any ice/snow conditions. Our car couldn't make it. But the owners were more than willing to give us a drive to the top.

Highly reccomend this place. We plan on returning again sometime.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We have stay four times, all in August. We will continue for as long as. We tnink the hosts are fabulous, the cabin is wonderful, the area is perfect.
THANK YOU Julie & Josh!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HyWyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My Mom and I were very pleased with the cabins and found Joshua and Julie to be the perfect hosts. The views are spectacular and the cabin was charming, with homey touches that made us reluctant to leave. We highly recommend this for your weekend getaway (the spa's a nice touch, too)! Thanks Julie and Joshua for a wonderful weekend! ( PS: Wi-fi would complete the package, although the home made cinnamon rolls were a welcome and unexpected treat)

Stayed October 2010
Helpful?
Thank Romerohiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed for four nights at Ash Ridge Cabins, in the Maple Lane Cabin. Situated among the trees high on a ridge overlooking a rural valley, this real log cabin was built by Amish craftmen in 2005. It's a one room housekeeping cabin with a cozy gas log fire and a hot tub on the back porch from which you can enjoy the view and watch the huge variety of birds come to the feeder. When we arrived, scented candles were burning, the fire was lit, and there were chocolates on the pillow of the queen-sized log bed. The kindly owners thought of everything! The decor is charming with log furniture, and geared for romance, although the couch is a full-sized log futon in which two more people could sleep. The bath has a large shower with two seats in it, and plenty of thick soft towels were provided. The kitchen is fully stocked and has stove, microwave, toaster oven, and fridge. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and heavenly cinnamon rolls were stocked for our use. If you don't want to cook or use the outdoor charcoal grill, restaurants are a short scenic drive away. All the various places in Hocking Hills State Park are close at hand, and we hiked to a variety of waterfalls and caves, then came home to soak in the hot tub and snuggle in front of the fire. There is a tv, but no cable or satellite, a dvd/cd player, and no telephone, although our cellular was working fine--when we bothered to turn it on. The great part was getting away from all of that. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a one-night getaway that was relatively close to Cleveland. Hocking Hills is roughly three to three and a half hours away, which was within our range for driving time.

Most cabins in the area require a two night stay on weekends, but they had an opening for the one night that we had available, which was perfect. We arrived a few minutes before check-in, met Joshua and Julie and several of their children, and signed in. They gave us the necessary information and told us to go on up, the cabin was open and the key was on the table.

The drive to the cabin is very steep; their web site advises that a four-wheel-drive vehicle is necessary in snow, and they mean it.

Our cabin was the Lover's Loft, the farthest out of the three cabins. The cabins are situated roughly 500 feet apart, each facing a different direction for privacy. With no leaves on the trees, you can see the general outline of the other cabins; with leaves I'd imagine that you can't even see the other cabins.

We walked inside and the first things we noticed were the classical music playing on the DVD player and the butterscotch candle burning on the kitchen table. The cabin was very cute, clean and nicely appointed. Plenty of linens and kitchen items for us to prepare meals. There were even tea lights and taper candles for dining by candlelight!

We used the downstairs bedroom with a King-sized bed; there's a queen upstairs in the loft and a sleeping futon in the living room, so the cabin can sleep six comfortably.

The back deck was very nice, with a hot tub, swing and rocking chair and table. I would have been content to spend the afternoon sitting on the swing and knitting, watching the birds, but Conkle's Hollow and the Cave House beckoned for some hiking.

When we returned, we fixed dinner and then jumped in the hot tub, perfect for sore legs after our afternoon of hiking.

Someone set the alarm clock upstairs to go off at 1AM, which made for a less-than-perfect night's sleep. The downstairs bed had nice sheets and comfortable pillows, but felt like it needed to be flipped; I kept rolling into the center! In addition, there appeared to be some construction debris outside of the cabin; a few boards, etc. on the ground. It also looked like prior guests had left a few beer bottles on the ground beneath the deck.

There was a television and DVD player, and they offer quite a few DVD titles to borrow, as there is no cable or satellite. In my opinion, this was a bonus, as it added to the peaceful atmosphere.

The complimentary cinnamon rolls were a nice treat the next morning, and breakfast with the birds at the feeder on the back deck was very nice. We saw six to eight whitetail deer, many different species of songbirds and even a Pileated woodpecker that looked to be approximately 16 inches in length! What a treat!

There was a guest book in the cabin, and entry after entry showed how other guests enjoyed this place as much as we did. Somewhere in 2007 someone started the "dollar game" where they hid a dollar somewhere in the cabin and left a clue in the guest book; the next guest was supposed to read the clue, find the dollar and hide it for the next guest. We found four of five dollars and hid them again.

In all, a wonderful, charming place that we would consider returning to with another couple or our children.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reaganoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laurelville
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
13.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
10.1 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Cherry Ridge Retreat
Cherry Ridge Retreat
#1 of 3 in New Plymouth
319 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ash Ridge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Ridge Cabins

Property: Ash Ridge Cabins
Address: 17171 Sam Carr Rd, Laurelville, OH 43135-9517
Location: United States > Ohio > Laurelville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Laurelville
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash Ridge Cabins is located on a beautiful 19 acre property. Our 3 real Log cabins - the Sweet Heart, Maple Lane and Lovers Loft - are situated on wooded ridge overlooking the scenic and beautiful Laurel Valley in southeast Ohio's beautiful Hocking Hills Region. Our Cuddle Bug Cottage is situated in a serene, peaceful valley with towering, wooded hills all around.All of our cabins have private hot tubs and gas-log fireplaces, are furnished with Amish custom-built, beautiful log furniture, have Queen or King size beds, are charmingly decorated, most have gorgeous cathedral ceilings and all have all the amenities of home, including 3 with DirecTV satellite with over 120 channels.We are an easy drive to all of the popular attractions in the Hocking Hills State Park such as Rock House, Conkle's Hollow, Old Man's Cave, Cedar Falls and Ash Cave, with great hiking trails and awesome caves and waterfalls. Fall scenery in the Hocking Hills area is hard to beat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ash Ridge Cabins Ohio/Laurelville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing