We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Diner in Town”
Review of The Olde Cottage - CLOSED

The Olde Cottage
Restaurant details
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Diner in Town”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I get lunch to go here probably at least 2-3 times a week. They know me by voice on the phone now. They've always been friendly, and the burgers are great. This is a good old-fashioned diner, but NOT a "greasy spoon". Value is excellent. They're not just good inexpensive burgers, though. Their reuben (turkey and regular), chicken salad sandwiches, and fish tail sandwiches are also all wonderful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Double-Cheeseburger in the U.S.A.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I've been going to this restaurant since I was 6 years old...54 years! It started with Cecil Fields, then went through some others until now owned by Carrie Hacker the past 15 or so years. Chef Carrie is one of the last of a dying breed...a short order chef who genuinely cares about her food and puts a ton of effort into it. One of several daily specials is the Double Cheeseburger special. A burger, toasted buns, slathered with melted cheese, with crinkle cut fries and a pop soda for $5.25. It's a plateful. But through the years, the burgers still taste the same because she's using 100% prime beef from Bay Meats. I bite into one of her burgers and I'm twelve years old again. The open face sandwiches with mashed potatoes and gravy are my wife's favorite, and she says the chilli's to die for. The restaurant closes at 3pm, so lunches are best. Carrie's pancakes with sausage are also to die for...home cooking at its finest with prices from the 20th century!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best diner with the friendliest atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is an old-fashioned diner with character and friendly folks, but the best part about it is the delicious food. The best burger anywhere, and the meal deals are great (especially the baked chicken dinner). Oh and did I mention their custard pie - the best I've ever tasted. To make things even better, the prices are so reasonable. Enjoy!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place in town”
Reviewed June 28, 2008

As far as I'm concerned, this is the best place to eat in Lancaster for the money! I have never had such graet food at such a wonderful price. Lon and Krystal put it all on the line!My favorites are the "Grilled Ham & Cheese with onion rings" and " Lons Sloppy Joes with fries" If you're ever near the restaurant you have got to stop in! Wonderful people and great food too.

Helpful?
1 Thank OhioDee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I have yet to find a burger that compares with Lancaster's venerable White Cottage. It's like stepping back into the...”
Reviewed February 23, 2008

I have yet to find a burger that compares with Lancaster's venerable White Cottage. It's like stepping back into the '50s (the place still even has the old barstools & lunch counter from its "soda-fountain" days as a drug store!) Delicious, traditional cheeseburgers & fries—along with a variety of other sandwich or soup options—served the old-fashioned way. A vegan's nightmare. Yum!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Cottage also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing