We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Happy Birthday To Me!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaw's Restaurant & Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaw's Restaurant & Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday To Me!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at Shaw's Inn, in The Venice Whirlpool Room, for my 40th birthday, 4/29/2011. I know, I'm late in posting! :) The Inn is lovely, charming and inviting. Our plan was to not leave the room once we got there, and we didn't! I enjoyed a long over-due soak in the luxurious tub, we cuddled on the love seat and watched movies we had brought, we had an AMAZING dinner (the famously HUGE Applewood Smoked Pork Chop) in our room, and a great sleep in the huge king bed. In the morning we enjoyed the large shower and went downstairs for our breakfast that was included in the room. And breakfast (Blueberry Lemon Pancakes) was as amazing as dinner was.

Room Tip: The Venice Room is right next to the room where they have cooking classes, and the class that was th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikesmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
51
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I decided to do a little weekend getaway this past weekend. Typically, when we plan a last minute getaway, we go to our old standby...Hilton Polaris (best hotel in Columbus in our opinion). However, we wanted to try something different, yet still stay close to home due to the weather.

My husband and I are rather particular in regards to what we are looking for in a hotel or B&B. We do not take week (or longer) vacations, but rather do several weekend getaways throughout the year. Therefore, we want our stay to be as perfect as possible. The things we look for include:

*Clean room (no reports of B. Bugs)
*Room Service (or at least restaurants nearby that deliver)
*Comfortable furniture (including couch/chairs...not just a bed)
*Whirlpool Tub or Soaking Tub (separate from shower)
*Entertainment (Cable/Satellite, preferably with movie channels, and/or pay-per-view).
*WiFi (not crucial, but desirable)
*Privacy and Quiet (if a B&B - not having to eat at one large table, but having private tables....we socialize in our jobs all week, we just want to be alone on these weekends!)

These amenities can be difficult to find in a hotel and/or B&B; however, we have found a few Hotels and B&Bs that offer these amenities, and Shaw's Inn and Restaurant is one of them. Below are the Pros and Cons we experienced during our stay:

Pros:
~Beautiful historic hotel with plenty of free parking
~Great customer service (I noticed some people commented in their reviews on the lack of customer service; however, we experienced outstanding customer service from the moment we walked into Shaw's)
~Large, clean, quiet suites (no b. bugs)
~Comfortable furniture (couch, chairs, bed...everything was comfortable)
~Recently renovated (see attached pictures). We stayed in the Caribbean Suite, and it was beautiful
~Room Service is actually offered during lunch and dinner (the Web site only lists dinner). You also have the option of a 'to-go' breakfast, where they can pack a breakfast for you and have it at the front desk. There are also pizza places nearby that deliver (we suggest Pizza Crossing....great local pizza place)!
~Food is OUTSTANDING. We had dinner when we arrived (in restaurant); breakfast both mornings (in restaurant…at private table), and room service dinner our second night. Each time, the food was outstanding. The Southern Comfort Chicken is the BEST chicken I have ever had; their homemade bread and cinnamon rolls are outstanding; their breakfasts were very good as well. Some reviewers complained about the price of the meals, but we found it to be very comparable to other restaurants like Olive Garden, Longhorn, etc.. For the amount of food you get, not to mention how outstanding each meal we had was, the price was just right.
~Cable TV (flat panel TVs...one in the living room and one in the master bedroom) also included two movie channels (HBO and Cinemax).
~Free WiFi throughout the hotel (we didn't use it, but it was available).
**Something that was extra nice...it snowed while we were there, and someone cleaned off our car for us, which was completely unexpected and appreciated**

Cons:
~We didn't want to leave!

Shaw's Inn is a great way to get away from your everyday life. It is historic, set in the historic part of Lancaster, but has upgraded amenities for those of us who still want a TV and WiFi. The food is outstanding; the room is comfortable; the people are so welcoming and want you to enjoy yourself. They are in the process of renovating many of their rooms, so don't go by the pictures currently on their Web site. Many of them are completely updated and look entirely different, as our room did.

We can't wait to go back and try out the other whirlpool suites!

Room Tip: Splurge for a Whirlpool Suite...especially if you want extra room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chops1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very fortunate to get a room at Shaws Inn, very late on a Saturday night, about 11 pm when we got there. Nice room, in a well kept, and very classy looking downtown Hotel. The room was a corporate room, and while a little small, was well appointed, and I am sure a standard size for the age of the building. The staff was very nice, and accomodating in every way we asked. The Bed was comfortable, the room spotless, and we enjoyed our stay very much. We plan to come back, and try the Restaurant for supper, because the breakfast was awesome!!

Room Tip: Beautiful view from our room 4111
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMasters84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Needed a place to stay for Parent's Day at Ohio University and everything was booked up. Found this delightful inn and so glad we did! Lovely place with a great dining room and breakfast included in the room rate! The inn is right downtown in a very historic part of town. Fun to walk around and visit the shops,museums,bakery and view the beautiful homes. Very comfy rooms. The food was delicious in the elegant dining room. A very charming inn!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1959Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The room was small. So was bathroom. Decently clean. The check in for hotel and people arriving for restaurant is the same place. Kinda cramp. Wifi worked well. Not bad but not great. Interesting area to walk around near Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dman457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel & restaurant a total of 3 times and every time it has been a very nice stay. This is not a chain/franchise hotel. The furnishings are upscale and sometimes French Provincial, depending on your room. The rooms a very clean & the bed very comfortable. The rooms are not suites but not micro size either. The restaurant has always been of top quality in service, variety and friendliness. This is the place for a nice romantic or cozy dinner. The staff has always very friendly, attentive and eager to assist. Many people hear the word old and assume it a smelly and run down establishment but on the contrary, it is well kept and the charm preserved.
It is located in the downtown area but this is a downtown that rolls its sidewalks up after dark . We never heard traffic from
the street below. I will say take note of the time of year if you stay as there are a few festivals in the Summer time that are held in this area and it could be busy, noisy or sold out.

Room Tip: rooms in the back are up against a quiet ally. Some rooms have different amenities and themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
955 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I love the restaurant in this old place, just downtown. It really is a good and quality place to eat. I really liked that this old place had been restored and saved. It has a lot of charm. My room was not large but it was quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
14.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East
BEST WESTERN Canal Winchester In...
#1 of 1 in Canal Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw's Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw's Restaurant & Inn

Property: Shaw's Restaurant & Inn
Address: 123 North Broad Street, Lancaster, OH 43130
Location: United States > Ohio > Lancaster
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Shaw`s Hotel Lancaster
Shaw's Restaurant & Inn Lancaster, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing