We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little worn but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed here with wife and 11-year child. It was a nice experience overall. Location was great. Staff was helpful and friendly. Relative to other Hampton Inns in the Columbus area this was a great value.

Before we even entered the lobby we were greeted by "Pardon our dust" signs on the door as this property was currently under renovation. Indeed this hotel is beginning to show its age - carpets a bit worn, minor dings in the drywall on the 2nd-floor corridor. It was very clean, however, and the nothing was bad enough to give it a "run-down" feel. The renovation process did not interfere with the quality of our stay. Baseboards were being ripped up and some drywall repair was underway, but it did not feel like were in a construction zone.

Other than age, the room was in great condition. The beds were very comfortable. This property is only a few feet off a very busy highway and I worried about traffic noise, but this didn't turn out to be a problem. The a/c fan was on all night - maybe we would have heard some traffic if it was off.

Breakfast was typical for a Hampton Inn, maybe a smidge better. The indoor pool was a hit with my son, but it was very humid, more so than most indoor pools I've encountered recently. My wife said the chlorine smell was stronger than most as well.

The location was great - 20 minutes to Columbus on a Saturday morning. The hotel is surrounded by several casual restaurants plus several fast-food establishments. No Ruth's Chris or any fine dining places. Also within 1/2 mile are a Target, pharmacy, movie theater, and Kroger (the hotel is across the street from a shopping center).

As I stated previously, the hotel is a good value. They are priced quite a bit less than other Hampton Inns in the area - at least they were when we were there. That could be due to the renovation. I sometimes get nervous when a property is priced below comparables, but this one turned out fine.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithwnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 347 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2009

We were here for a mini weekend getaway- we actually live 20 minutes away. The location was easy to find, next to Olive Garden. Walked to dinner- can't beat that! The hotel and rooms were very clean!!! Check-in was a breeze. The pool and hottub were nice, but the chlorine smell was a bit too strong. The halls were very quiet, the pool wasn't crowded and the staff was very courteous. The beds were very clean(to the naked eye!) and they were sooo comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was good, a little better than a cont. breakfast, but didn't care for the eggs, they were not realistic looking or tasting. Overall though, I would come back with the kids anytime!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtravel101Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I travel for work often, usually about 5-10 nights a month. Generally I prefer Hampton Inns and have never knowingly had a problem before. But tonight while reading I noticed something movingon the pillow next to me, looked over, and saw a large bed bug. I killed it, tore off the sheets and saw another by my leg. I've since found a third and can't sleep now. I might be up all night but I can't wait to get out of here in the morning.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
7  Thank Joerco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Clean. Good location. Overall, not bad but it could use a few touchups - tub was damaged, cracked and had rusty areas near the drain. Paint was worn off or scratched off in several areas throughout the room. Furniture was a bit beat up. Floor seemed a bit damp near A/C. I would stay here again due to the cleanliness of the room and hotel facilties.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

One of the best values we've had for some time. Super clean, great staff, good beds, good shower, roomy bathroom. Appointed well. Very quiet. Stayed on 3rd floor, elevator was good. Very good breakfast in the AM. I'll definitely stay here any time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingAllOver46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed here one night while we did the Hocking Hills Zipline (lots of fun). This is a tired Hampton Inn. The rooms are not the cleanest. The location is OK and close to amenities. We noticed that someone staying or working at the hotel had let outside families come in and use the pool. We saw groups sitting outside the pool area walking to/from their cars while their kids swam in the pool. Not cool at all.

The breakfast was below par even for a Hampton Inn. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on business or with a family for pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOaKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

This property is showing a little wear around the edges, and its customer service could be improved. Also, don't be fooled by the 'Hampton 100% Guarantee." Just like Choice Hotels, it is totally worthless.

Our HBO never worked during the entire stay, and this escalated to a total lack of cable by morning. The sink in our room was stopped up, and there appeared to be a water leak in the bathroom. All of these items were reported to the front desk.

We noted an odor like sewage coming from a vent in the hallway.

You might want to look around, even in nearby towns. I'm sure there is a more pleasant property to spend your hard-earned dollars.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWOhioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
13.6 mi away
Best Western Canal Winchester Inn - Columbus South East
Best Western Canal Winchester In...
#1 of 1 in Canal Winchester
286 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus-East
Hampton Inn Columbus-East
#1 of 3 in Pickerington
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lancaster

Address: 2041 Schorrway Drive, Lancaster, OH 43130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $133 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate in a spacious guest room or suite at our Lancaster, Ohio hotel and enjoy modern comforts to help you feel at home. Enjoy great value during your stay in Ohio with unexpected delights such as our sparkling indoor swimming pool, fitness center, fully equipped business center and multi-function meeting space. Everything's backed up by our 100% Hampton Guarantee(R)-friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings every time. If you're not satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our commitment and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton.(R) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Lancaster Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing