We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great!”
Review of Melt Bar & Grilled

Melt Bar & Grilled
Ranked #3 of 143 Restaurants in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Melt Bar and Grilled features gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches, craft beers and signature cocktails in an eclectic, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Featured on several national television programs and in countless publications, Melt puts a new spin on traditional bar food in a setting that is cool, fun and very unique. In addition to Melt's signature grilled cheese sandwiches, many vegetarian/vegan and gluten-free options, appetizers, salads and desserts are also available. Patrons may dine in, order take-out, or speak to a staff member about catering their next event. Melt Bar and Grilled is an independently owned and operated restaurant group based in Cleveland, Ohio. Melt was created in 2006 by owner/founder Matt Fish with the simple goal of providing great food and awesome craft beers in a very fun and unique atmosphere. Melt has grown from its humble small storefront beginnings to multiple regional locations with more organic growth planned. Melt continues to grow and prosper because of The Melt Family: The amazing staff and management team. Thank you and welcome to Melt!
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food was great!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Come early because wait times can be between 30-45 minutes. My husband and I arrived around 1PM and was seated nearly at 2PM but it was worth the wait! Try the Falcon Punch, it's a yummy concoction of vodka, cabernet, and orange juice. I had two! We ordered the Melt Challenge out of curiosity. It was a huge serving of cheese, cheese, and more cheese. The Hangover Fries were awesome. Definitely coming back here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vv0280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    128
    55
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great. Never disappoints.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for something unique to bring guests, this is a great place to go. Not a place if you just want a light lunch as the sandwiches are quite large.

Helpful?
Thank dezedjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great. Never disappoints.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for something unique to bring guests, this is a great place to go. Not a place if you just want a light lunch as the sandwiches are quite large.

Helpful?
Thank dezedjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not For The Lactose Intolerant...”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was for a team "holiday gathering" (remember when they used to call them Christmas Parties?), and the place was very crowded (which, to me says, very popular). If you're not into cheese all that much, this place might not be your first choice. They pretty much put cheese into everything except the coffee. Their grilled cheese sandwiches are of brobdingnagian proportions. For that matter, so are most of their entrees. They've put things into a grilled cheese that I never would have dreamt of in my childhood imaginings (with a side of tomato soup). VERY loud, so conversation's a bit of a bummer, but frankly it's just a fun place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocFarmer-FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Simple to extravagant...”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We saw this on a show about the best grilled cheese sandwiches, so while we were in town, we checked it out. It is exactly what was advertised. You can get a "simple" grilled cheese or a combination of flavors you never thought about. I tried the korean BBQ and my husband had a steak sandwich. The portions are huge. We actually ate 1/2 for lunch and finished the other 1/2 for dinner. The decor is eclectic and interesting. We arrived just after 11 on a Saturday and were seated immediately. By the time we were leaving around NOON, there was a sizable line with people waiting. I think it's definitely a place to visit if you're passing through, something to say you did. I am not sure we would visit more than 1x/year if we were local.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imzpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melt Bar & Grilled also viewed

 

Been to Melt Bar & Grilled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing