We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Melt Does It Again!”

Melt Bar and Grilled
Ranked #3 of 144 Restaurants in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Melt Bar and Grilled features gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches, craft beers and signature cocktails in an eclectic, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Featured on several national television programs and in countless publications, Melt puts a new spin on traditional bar food in a setting that is cool, fun and very unique. In addition to Melt's signature grilled cheese sandwiches, many vegetarian/vegan and gluten-free options, appetizers, salads and desserts are also available. Patrons may dine in, order take-out, or speak to a staff member about catering their next event. Melt Bar and Grilled is an independently owned and operated restaurant group based in Cleveland, Ohio. Melt was created in 2006 by owner/founder Matt Fish with the simple goal of providing great food and awesome craft beers in a very fun and unique atmosphere. Melt has grown from its humble small storefront beginnings to multiple regional locations with more organic growth planned. Melt continues to grow and prosper because of The Melt Family: The amazing staff and management team. Thank you and welcome to Melt!
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Melt Does It Again!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My friends make fun of my grilled cheese Melt tattoo. If the'd have gotten a bite of my Korean BBQ War Pig sandwich yesterday, they'd get one too (tattoo AND sandwich). Korean BBQ glaze on pulled pork and pork belly, with a kimchee slaw, coriander relish and muenster cheese. Amazing! Staff was awesome as always. Menus are stuck to the back of 12 in vinyl album covers (I got REO Speedwagon). I skipped beer this visit, but their selection is eclectic (the Belgian Troubadour Magma was on tap last visit). The tattoo gets me a discount, so of course I'll be back. I visit and review a lot of places...The Melt is my favorite!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LordMark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    141
    55
    34
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love the take-out option!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We always enjoy the food from Melt and enjoy eating at the Lakewood location when we have time for a leisurely meal. But we LOVE that we can phone in the order and pick it up. This option usually takes between 30 and 45 minutes.
The themed "specials" are fantastic but we have our favorite stand-bys as well. Parmageddon, Godfather, and Wake & Bacon rock our house!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Grilled and huge!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our stop at this restaurant unfortunately coincided with National Grilled Cheese day (week), and it was packed!! This added to the desirability, believe it or not. Instead of adding our name to the list, we drew out a phrase - ours was "Truth or Dare" (imaginative). The wait staff was uniquely dressed, and could not be mistaken for anything else but servers. Even though we drank lemonade, iced tea, and water, our glasses were never more than half empty. I had a basic 1/2 grilled cheese, roasted garlic tomato soup and salad (enormous side salad); other members of our group had sandwiches and fries from the menu - delicious, generous, fragrant - in fact, our mouths watered the instant we stepped into the building - very classy decor, inviting atmosphere. It was a memorable experience, but we probably wouldn't go again - been there, done that - you should go at least once!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacham, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food if you can stand the wait”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Melt has excellent food and ambiance but you have to wait a long time to be seated. There is nothing on the menu you shouldn't try. The key is to get there early or off hours.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sterg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“huge portions for huge people”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We live in Lakewood. You'd think we would go to the hyper-popular Melt all the time. Nope. We've been twice since it opened. Gloppy, bland, huge portions do not appeal to us. It was vaguely disgusting watching people waddle in and inhale mountains of carb-heavy and fried food. I liked the decor in the bathroom. I guess that's a plus. This place is just not our cup of tea.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melt Bar and Grilled also viewed

 

Been to Melt Bar and Grilled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing