We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guacamole”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barroco Grill

Barroco Grill
Ranked #5 of 143 Restaurants in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great guacamole”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fresh ingredients. BYOB.Nice atmosphere and very friendly staff.Waitress was fantastic. The Arepa sandwich at Barroco Grill in Lakewood is their main staple, served many ways. My son loved the Chorizo Arepa sandwich and my husband thought the Buffalo Chicken Arepa was fabulous. I had the Riena Pepiada Arepa and thought it was so-so. The guacamole was fabulous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank takoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    34
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Lots of Flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Small restaurant, very busy on a Thursday night. BYOB, shrimp ceviche was not what I expected (it came in a thousand island dressing type sauce), I loved all the different sauces our server brought with the meal. The Mexicana Arepas were AMAZING-the Arepas were soft and delicious and the chorizo had great flavor. Started off with the guacamole with some plantain chips and tortilla chips. I wish I had just ordered the plantain chips becuase they were better than the tortilla chips. Tortilla chips were good too, but it is not every day that I get to eat fried plantain chips =).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikkospam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little piece of Columbian culture...in Ohio.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Authentic atmosphere, pleasant and helpful staff, YUMMY food. Looking for something different? This is the place. Small and inviting. Just a few minutes from downtown Cleveland.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nursewhipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Crazy good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went to Barroco on our sitters recommendation. We are always loving the new foodie restaurants in Cleveland and Lakewood so we gave it a try. The place is cozy and welcoming like walking into any NYC spot. We sat in the rear where it was comfortable closeness between guests. Great atmosphere, decor etc. I ordered the grilled chicken skewers which were to die for! Chicken was juicy, tender and very flavorful! I don't remember what my husband ordered but I believe it might have been empanada? Anyway he said it was amazing and the fries there-I would go back just for those to dip in all of there dipping sauces, my favorite was the garlic - I wanted to steal the bottle and take it home with me. Overall price was great, food amazing, you can't go wrong trying this place out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious, authentic and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I visit on a regular basis and always order the veggie arepa. I'm partial to vegetarian options anywhere, but I've had the chorizo and pork arepas as well. Both incredibly delicious and I love the black bean soup. The Cuban is also very good, which I had when my company had Barroco cater a lunch for us. Must try.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RiverBurgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barroco Grill also viewed

 

Been to Barroco Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing