We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get some studies and writing done!”
Review of The Root Cafe

The Root Cafe
Ranked #12 of 143 Restaurants in Lakewood
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place to get some studies and writing done!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Service - Very friendly staff :) Service is real good!
Food - Good Food.. have stuff for all meals.. which is a huge help.. they actually serve freshly made good hot enrees.
Ambience - perfect! There is free wifi folks!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SneheeChaplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“much overated”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been going to THe Root for several years. It's okay, but not all that. Prices are pretty high for what you get. Coffee is not hot. People behind the counter could smile more, although I have found nice friendly customers.
Food is not consistent. I have ordered the same sandwich a couple times and it has come back to me totally different each time. ANd not always good. One time it was extremely soggy and inedible. Pizza is tasty, but again, overpriced. You can get a larger stone oven thin crust made much better for half the price at other places. I think I might check out the new coffee shop across the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Root Cafe was a great restaurant for us as we had a mix of vegetarians, vegans and omnivores. We each were able to find something on the menu. Took us a while to realize that youo need to order at the counter. All the food was well prepared and presented. We were all impressed with quality and taste of the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rude”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The guy that I'm dating is a vegetarian and doesn't live in Lakewood so I though the root cafe would be a good place to take him. It was a Saturday night and we were playing in Lakewood park until dark. We got to the root about 9:15 and before we went in we had checked the website to see how late they were open, we found out it was 10pm. We had never been so we were looking over the menu and not quite sure if we were supposed to sit at a table or wait at the counter to order. No one greeted us for a couple of minutes so we looked over the menu at the counter. Finally a man came to us and said the he wasn't "trying to be rude" but if we wanted food they would like us to order it to go. We were both a little surprised by that and it came across very rude considering we still had 45 minutes according to their website. Neither of us had eaten dinner and wanted to sit down somewhere and order. We decided to leave. I can't comment on the food because we obviously didn't feel like spending money there after that. I was embarrassed too because I'd suggested it since it has so many options for him. Maybe we aren't the typical hippie type or hipster type they are used to serving (since we were in athletic clothes from being in the park), but I am shocked to receive that kind of treatment from a place in my neighborhood. I don't think I will ever want to eat there and I definitely will not recommend it to anyone, and have told some people about the rude man we encountered.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarmenH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great place for vegetarians and vegans!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This used to be my local coffeehouse. I love it. The coffee is outstanding. You will not want to go back to your Starbucks routine after you have a latte here. The baristas are experienced and friendly and will custom make whatever you want or need. The bakery and menu options continue to expand and there is an extensive vegetarian and vegan selection. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Root Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Root Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing