We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Park”

Lake Metroparks Penitentiary Glen Reservation
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Kirtland
Attraction details
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

A wonderful visitor’s center, hiking trails, lots of things for kids and adults, Penitentiary Glen is an usual and memorable park. It is definitely a good weather place; however, even on less than ideal days, there’s enough to experience in the visitor’s center that it’s worth a stop.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank StigJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nature center"
in 12 reviews
"beautiful park"
in 5 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 5 reviews
"live animals"
in 2 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 3 reviews
"play area"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful place"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"halle"
in 5 reviews
"gorge"
in 11 reviews
"glen"
in 9 reviews
"wildlife"
in 14 reviews
"penitentiary"
in 9 reviews
"hike"
in 8 reviews
"winter"
in 6 reviews
"rehabilitated"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2018

From recovering Birds of prey to a beautiful park with pavilions and paths to walk and ponds to fish, all around our nature at our fingertips.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank MikeB285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

The camp site is only a short walk from the parking lot.
Amenities include a fire ring, picnic table, BBQ grill, and plenty of free firewood on site. Hammock campers will find great tree choices, and tent campers have at least a half dozen good spots to pitch.
Restrooms are not on site, but are designated on the provided map.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Chuck_6141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

I had never been to a park like this one; my husband and I visited with our son-in-law and 2 1/2 year old granddaughter. She had a blast! The play area is all "natural" - logs and stumps and things on which to climb, which she loved. Then we found the big sand lot, complete with running water. Fortunately it was a hot day, as she was soaked by the time we left, but so much fun! Will definitely return on our next visit to Cleveland.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank retchemteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2018

I went here to go hiking with my son. There are many trails offered with different degrees of difficulty. If you want something even more, they have guided hikes that go off the path that are offered at different times. My son loves the animals that have been rescued that they house there for educational purposes. There is a small visitors center and gift shop where you can purchase beverages or ice cream. There is a park for small children, and there is a free train ride offered on certain days (see website.) We spent a couple hours hiking and looking around. It was fun and not overly strenuous.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank taradubois917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Metroparks Penitentiary Glen Reservation also viewed

Kirtland, Lake County
 
Willoughby Hills, Lake County
 

Been to Lake Metroparks Penitentiary Glen Reservation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing