We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly something for everyone”

Lake Metroparks Penitentiary Glen Reservation
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Kirtland
Attraction details
Reviewed May 7, 2018

If you're looking for a Lake County park that will have something for everyone, this is your best bet. The nature play area is great for kids (big and little) and when the trains are running, you'll see kids and adults enjoying those as well (check the website for dates and times -- it can be crowded, but well worth the wait). There are paved travels, gravel trails, some trails that are easy and others that can be enjoyed by the more athletic hiker. Check out the animals on display in the wildlife center and also go inside the former horse barn of the Halle Estate to learn more about the property and the nature to be found on it. In the winter, you can obtain snowshoes and there are picnic tables and fire pits for those who want to relax a bit. Check the website for Gorge Hikes -- you can't enter this area unless on a registered hike and everyone should do that walk at least once (kids can't be carried).

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank WHMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nature center"
in 12 reviews
"beautiful park"
in 5 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 5 reviews
"live animals"
in 2 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 3 reviews
"play area"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful place"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"halle"
in 5 reviews
"gorge"
in 11 reviews
"glen"
in 9 reviews
"wildlife"
in 14 reviews
"penitentiary"
in 9 reviews
"hike"
in 8 reviews
"winter"
in 6 reviews
"rehabilitated"
in 4 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 53 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2018

Right now it's winter, but there is plenty to do at Penitentiary Glen. Of course, there are the trails -- those are good in any season! But you can also obtain snowshoes in the winter! There is a nice indoor display area that features both the nature and history of the area if you desire a warmer activity. Live animals are on display outside (rehabilitated animals that can't be released). So, no matter what the weather, you can find something that every member of the family will enjoy.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank WHMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

Really cute Candy Land holiday display here! Great activity for little kids to get in the spirit of Christmas and take cute photos. Had a great time checking tgus exhibit out!!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank lynnc156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

I loved the nature center and I learned a lot....especially about poison ivy and butterflies. I made a special trip to see the wildlife center right next to the nature center and was very happy to see the two attractions in the same place. There was something new and interesting at every turn. There is also a cool gift shop, walking trails, a super photo exhibit and animal displays of every kind....even a white deer. I caught myself going back in time and I was like a young child amazed as I moved through the nature center touching pelts and seeing living things up close. This is a wonderful place and the staff was kind to me with all my questions. I wish I lived near this Lake County Metropark gem as I would be a regular. A visit here is time very well spent!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2017

This park has a ton of trails, amazing bird exhibit, lots of wildlife ( often see rat snakes) and has a new area for the kids that is awesome!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank TheTravelingRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Metroparks Penitentiary Glen Reservation also viewed

Kirtland, Lake County
 
Willoughby Hills, Lake County
 

Been to Lake Metroparks Penitentiary Glen Reservation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing