We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet location overlooking the sea with fab food”
Review of Tufted Duck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tufted Duck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Combs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

12 miles from Peterhead and 6 miles from Fraserburgh. Nice and quiet location overlooking the sea with fab food. We had a carvery and the restaurant was fantasitc with our seats looking over the sea. Staff were very friendly and the owner took the time to speak to us. No hesitation in recommending this modern and Scottish Tourist Board 4-star hotel for a stay or a bite to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 255 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were looking for somewhere different to have lunch on my birthday, we had heard on the grapevine that the tufted duck was worth a look, so I booked a table for lunch on Saturday. As we arrived we did wonder what we had let ourselves in for as the initial external impression of the hotel did not bode well. However, we overcame our reservations and entered the main reception area to be greeted by a member of staff who, after confirming our reservation showed us to a comfortable lounge area and presented us with menus to peruse.
As we had already studied the lunch menu on-line, we requested to be shown to our table. We were taken to our allotted table , our drinks order was taken and we were given menus to allow us to choose our lunch. Our drinks arrived, and our food orders were taken. In truth we were spoiled for choice, and, as as my wife commented, We could have picked almost any of the starter and main courses on offer, as it all sounded so enticing, I settled on Cullen skink, a favourite of mine, while my wife chose the caeser salad topped with aromatic duck breast with strips of cucumber and spring onion topped with a hoi sin sauce. We both enjoyed these starters and also enjoyed the blue cheese topped homemade beef-burger main course. The portions were generous, and neither of us had room for dessert, or coffee.
We are both impressed with the standard of service, the quality of the food and even the pricing in this establishment, the staff were friendly and helpful, attentive, but not uncomfortably so, and the sea-view from the restaurant was superb, (the sun was shining). We will certainly be returning to this wee gem to try more of their delicicious sounding menu in the not-to-distant future

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful setting with lovely views out over the North Sea, but the service for Sunday lunch was poor organised, seemed to be young kids not led by any experienced waiters/waitresses , the food was ok nothing great, Sunday carvery was on the cold side, sweets did not come out on a plate as they were said on the menu , sorry not my favourite

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank bluejames985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had a great weekend, hospitality, food and accommodation all really, really good, location stunning, off the beaten track, thanks for a great weekend Ben Genese and the team.
Willing and helpful staff added to the enjoyment of the best langoustines, scallops,smoked haddock and beef that I've had for a long time, excellent.
Ron C
Stirling

Room Tip: Sea view suites are very comfortable with a stunning vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had dinner here on Friday evening and the food quality was very good and well presented. My halibut main course was not only good but the portion of halibut was very generous. My wife loved her venison and our langoustine starter was very tasty. The service was really good and I would definitely go back. I have been here for the Sunday carvery lunch but this was my first dinner and I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Granderbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This used to be my local watering hole back in the 80's and from afar it looks about the same a sort of drab 2 storey utilitarian building of the 70's build design....But things have changed. Driving up via the quaint St Combs villiage Im seeing a large car park with covered entry, spacious reception and glorious open fire in the lounge and dining room with large clean windows looking over the coast for more than a 180 degree view. Im checked in to a suite on the first floor and offered assistance up the stairsfrom more than one staff member; the room is modern and airy with a comfortable Queen bed and again the same marvellous views over the coastline and down to the lighthouse - the Full moon is rising. Quick splosh in the bathroom, down to the restaurant and bar for a very good and reasonable value local Scottish fare. Rested overnight we went to breakfast and were the only ones present - the food, a typical NE scottish fry up with my favorite "Kippers" is hot and delivered quickly - offerings of coffee and tea and more toast.. We walk out of the Duck and head down to the beach and walk along the rough sea punctuated with some of the largest sand dunes in the country. Seals pop their heads out of the surf, and sea birds sqwark and run away...one of the main reasons for the hotels success is the closest of the bird reserves along the coast here. We check out quickly and efficiently - well its been some 25 years since we were last there and its obvious a large investment has been made and its paying off. You may hear the odd creak off a floor board in your room as you walk but the place was a haven of quietness, just the roar of waves if the window was open.

Room Tip: Book early and direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKStraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We went to the Tuffted duck for Sunday lunch where they had a carvery on. The food was excellent. There was roast beef, pork or gamon as well as a good selection of veg and other trimmings. I went for the roast beef and is was fault less. They also had a whole grain mustrad gravy that was superb.
It has been a long time since I was last at the duck and I noticed a big change. The hotel has been completely refurbished and looks great. The staff could not have been more helpfull and there is a great sea view to enjoy. I wont be leaving it so long to go back this time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Combs
10.5 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
23.4 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
459 reviews
13.8 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Peterhead
175 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
247 reviews
11.5 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tufted Duck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufted Duck Hotel

Address: Corsekelly Place, St Combs, Fraserburgh AB43 8ZS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Fraserburgh > St Combs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Combs
Price Range: $131 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tufted Duck Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with panoramic coastal views, the Tufted Duck Hotel is located on the North East coast of Scotland, within the historical fishing village of St Combs. Only 40 minutes from Aberdeen, the hotel offers rest and relaxation in its resplendently decorated interior, accompanied by superb dining, fine wines and of course impeccable service. We’re already looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tufted Duck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tufted Duck Fraserburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing