We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gross” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Kent/Akron Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Kent/Akron Area
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    59
    43
    35
See reviews for
71
27
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

When reading the other reviews I found it hard to believe I stayed in the same motel. Maybe I was lucky but I had a single double bed room on the third floor that looked like it had been recently remodeled. It was super clean; there was a fridge, microwave, HBO and a bathroom that would be appropriate in a Hilton. Even the outside appearance was nice. For less than $50 this place was terrific.

Room Tip: Ask for the most recently remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWOtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We chose this hotel based on cost and just to have a place to sleep. The friendly staff are the only nice thing I can talk about. The room wreaked of smoke so bad we both had to use our inhalers (on days we otherwise wouldn't need it), 1 of 3 lamps broken, streaks of nicotine stains down the walls, ceilings, outlets & smoke alarm. The sheets stained, about a dozen burn holes in the blankets. We did request a new room, but they were booked. I shoulda put forth an extra $40 & stayed next door or down the road, but I was exhausted after a 500 mile drive. I get that it was a smoking room, but seriously, clean the darn room!

Room Tip: Request non smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kent hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having stayed at Super 8 properties in the past I expected this one would meet the same standards...not so. When we first walked in the room none of the lights would come on. My husband was able to find one lamp that actually worked, but that was it. We weren't able to ever connect to the internet, although the desk clerk insisted WiFi was available and working "for everyone else". The continental breakfast was the worst I've ever seen, with only 1 table seating 2 people. By then we were so turned off we wouldn't have eaten there anyway, but still... We will NOT be returning during the 4 years our son will be at Kent State!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shera1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Shower was dirty (hairs all over) and the bed had many tears and burns in the comforters. Room smelled when the A/C was off. Everything else was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Meredith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Kent
Comfort Inn Kent
#3 of 8 in Kent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
7.7 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#3 of 3 in Cuyahoga Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Kent/Akron Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Kent/Akron Area

Property: Super 8 Kent/Akron Area
Address: 4380 Edson Road, I-76 Rt 43 Exit 33, Kent, OH 44240-6939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Kent/Akron Area 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Kent/Akron Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Kent/Akron Area Ohio
Super Eight Kent
Kent Super Eight
Kent Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing