We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I'd Rather Camp in a Tent - Better Choices Nearby - Needs Major Renovation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Kent/Akron Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Kent/Akron Area
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I'd Rather Camp in a Tent - Better Choices Nearby - Needs Major Renovation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is just a "Highway Stop Motel" on your way to bigger & better adventures, so I'm not trying to compare this motel to anything outside of it's class and location, but yes I would have rather slept in my tent. The location is a bit unnerving in terms of security. The lot is well lit, but the front desk can not see outside very well and it just did not feel safe. The hallways are interior which is good. The bed was very uncomfortable and I just didn't get a feel that I could trust the cleanliness. The rooms are sparse and dated and again did not feel clean or inviting. The "morning breakfast" is a real joke and I opted to find fast food nearby. They rated themselves at the same level of a Comfort Inn or Days Inn, but no...this is a true step down. Find somewhere else for your road trip, there are many other options within a short distance. This is a DB-Trips No Go!

Room Tip: Stay on a lower level to avoid carrying bags up the stairs but again I would not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBTrips-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    55
    42
    34
See reviews for
70
26
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WILLIAMSBURG
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

For that price, you don't expect the Ritz ,and you don't get it, but at least they have queen-sized beds, non smoking rooms, decent hot showers, and are pet friendly. The room wasn't as clean as it could be, the heater blew cold air at times, the walls are paper thin, and there are not enough outlets, but it was a decent enough place for a family with 3 kids and a dog, and like I said, the price was right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank LAURAL0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here while attending a dog show. We stayed in a suite which was clean, very roomy and accomodated our large dog crates. The breakfast is fine. Hot coffee/tea, waffles (toaster type), danishes. It was plenty. The girl at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again

Room Tip: if you have dogs or you just like a large room, the suite is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for one night while visiting Kent State University. The room was pretty basic and fairly clean. The bed was acceptable although the sheets were a little scratchy. The only real disappointment was the bathroom. Maybe I'm just tall (5'8''), but the sink seemed pretty short to me. In order to use it at a comfortable height I actually had to kneel on my knees. The toiletries only included a bar of soap and a tiny bottle of shampoo so if you're not one of those people like me that always bring your own toiletries then you might want to do so for this motel. The water pressure in the shower was rather low and the lighting in the bathroom was dim, but wasn't a serious issue. The staff was polite and the price was fair. Overall it's a good hotel if you're just looking for a place to spend the night and aren't expecting anything extraordinary.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BioAnthroNerd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I needed a decent place for just a bed and shower on my way to Detroit. I was tired and exhausted and the room was $47(tax included) - no Hampton - but this is what I paid for.
It appears reasonably clean - I found one hair on the back of the tolit. Lighting a bit dim and when they repainted the walls they left paint splatter all over everything - it does have that "cheap hotel" smell though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slsrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Kent
Comfort Inn Kent
#4 of 8 in Kent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
11.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Akron South
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Kent/Akron Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Kent/Akron Area

Property: Super 8 Kent/Akron Area
Address: 4380 Edson Rd, I-76 Rt 43 Exit 33, Kent, OH 44240-6939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Kent/Akron Area 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Kent/Akron Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Kent/Akron Area Ohio
Super Eight Kent
Kent Super Eight
Kent Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing