We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but clean”
Review of Econo Lodge Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Kent
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an older Econolodge, but all was fine and clean. It has some signs of wear. I have stayed multiple occasions since my daughter attends the local college. Breakfast was basic and the room was fine. Nice flat screen tv on the wall. The beds are pretty comfortable..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Kent
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 62 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

I am a choice hotels regular, who travels for business, I stay at various named properties under the brand. When I have to spend 2 nights or more in an area I do my best to save money. When I can stay 2 nights at an economy property for the price of one in a "better" property I usually choose the economy. I read all the horrible reviews this property has here but decided to give it a try anyway. I found this property to be the usual Econolodge. Nothing fancy, but clean and acceptable budget priced lodging. The only real issue I have with this property is its location, right next to Ohio 43. You can hear every vehicle drive by from inside your room(my room faced the road). This issue is not something that can be remedied easily so I would just recommend asking for a room that did not face the road.Other than that I found this Econolodge to be a good value, large,clean, rooms good wi-fi. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face away from the highway could be quieter
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foto_johnyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is an older Econolodge, but all was fine and clean. It has some signs of wear, but all told I would stay here again in a minute. Breakfast was basic and the room was fine. Nice flat screen tv on the wall.

As for some of the bizarrely negative reviews, I don't get it. There are a lot of similar 2-star hotels right on the same strip and maybe they've gone to war with each other. Maybe it was a lot of hotwire/priceline novices unhappy with their room choice--ALWAYS call the hotel after booking through the blind sites.

Room Tip: Ask for backside--always call ahead to confirm with priceline/hotwire.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtmathteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Booked this hotel threw my choice privileges and when we got there their was hardy any parking room. We got in the room and you could hear everyone walking up stairs. There was mold in the shower around the plastic Handel and the water would only get Luke warm. The microwave was dirty. The sink looked like crap.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zachfusselman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive hotel for a night and this fit that just fine. It is basic, but it was clean and quiet. There was a mini fridge and a microwave. Easy parking, interior doors, and an indoor pool. The free breakfast was standard fare including pastries, bagels and a waffle maker. The bathroom was very small and the sink area is open to the rest of the room. Very convenient to the freeway and only a few minutes drive to downtown Kent.

I'd stay here again if I was looking for a cheap place to stay.

Room Tip: We were at the north end of the hallway and couldn't hear any freeway noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrapchick256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The price was very good -now I know why.
There was a lot of mold and cracks around the A/C unit
You literately had to get in the shower to shut the bathroom door
There was no coffee pot in the room or even hot cups to use the microwave.
Rust and grunge on the shower handles
No handle on the night stand
The ceiling was cracked badly
I have been a choice member for 8 years and don't normally complain.

Room Tip: Go across the street!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Was passing through on a work trip, landed the hotel later in the evening for a few hours of rest. Literally slept and left. Was ridiculously charged for apparent carpet damage and other made up charges for someone to make a quick $50 vandalism charge! Hotel was disgusting, it was late, and should have stayed in my truck! False charges must be there way of doing business! Called and asked about charges and no managers etc to talk to or remotely help resolve charge. Another terrible excuse!! Never again!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Kent
Comfort Inn Kent
#3 of 8 in Kent
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
9.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 9 in Streetsboro
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Kent

Address: 4386 State Route 43, Kent, OH 44240-6920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Price Range: $44 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Kent 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remodeled Rooms,new bed linen,new curtains, new pictures, new pillows, new bed spreads,new sheets,new chairs, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Kent Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing