We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for overnight stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kent State University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for overnight stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We arrived late at night without a reservation. The first hotel we stopped at couldn't accommodate our party size, but the desk clerk at the Holiday Inn was very helpful. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff and front desk clerks were friendly. We also enjoyed the breakfast. There were enough choices for my picky children to find something they liked. As I was checking out the front desk clerk offered me a bottle of water for the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jccarney1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write
about your recent stay. We are very
pleased that you had a wonderful stay
and we look forward to seeing you
again the next time you travel to Miami.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    35
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
16
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was in Kent, Ohio for my fiance's cousins wedding. This location was very close to the church it made getting there a breeze. There was a large selection for breakfast. The young gentleman at the front desk was very helpful on giving me directions to the Walmart a couple miles away. The only thing I wished the standard rooms had were microwaves and refrigerators, instead of just the upgraded rooms. It worked out for us though since we just brought an electric cooler. The staff there was wonderful!! I will recommend this property as well as hope to have a reason to go back to Kent, Ohio in the future.


Ashley Burkey

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding our location and service. I will forward your suggestion about the microwave and fridges in every room to management. We would love to have you stay with us again. Please give us a call when coming back to the Kent area. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Booked due to how close it was to my triathalon the next morning. Breakfast usually starts at 7, but we has to leave by 6. I talked with Reba at the front desk and she gladly put together a few togo breakfasts for us to take with us. Reba also gave us some great options for dinner that evening. We typically stay at Holiday Inn Express and this experience will ensure that we continue to do so. Thank you for exceeding my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for advice. They are happy to help and always friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YORMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to hear that Reba was able to provide the level of service you have come to expect from The Holiday Inn Express.Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel has comfortable, fresh rooms with plenty of elbow room. The staff is well engaged with the traveller and all employees seem to focus on their jobs. Everywhere was clean. The breakfast was excellent, the design and landscape high quality.

Room Tip: Yah can't go wrong here. Pool looked really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for the feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Kent Ohio. We appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Clean, modern, and friendly. The management got it right with the team they have assembled. Everyone is friendly and helpful. I stayed here for several weeks on a business trip. The breakfast was always hot and ready in the mornings, hot cookies were in the lobby when I returned and coffee and cocoa were always available. Fortunately, the fitness room was also clean and the equipment was in good working condition. I did not have a chance to enjoy the indoor pool, but it looked clean and inviting as well. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and well appointed with a desk, dresser, chair, flat screen and plenty of light. Overall, I was impressed by the little things that made this stay one of the best I have enjoyed at a hotel in years. A special thanks to Adam (the front desk Manager) and Dean (the front desk attendant) for always greeting me by name and making this a great experience. I will be staying here again.
-An impressed customer

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for the feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Kent Ohio. Please accept our sincere gratitude for the review that you provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Came to Kent for a funeral. Called this hotel for reservations. Staff was very courteous! Manager checked us in. Reg, the General Manager, is very personable, runs a very clean, well appointed hotel! They are number one on Trip Advisor because they are a "12" on a scale of "10"!
Very good hot breakfast with a wide variety of items! Highly recommend this hotel!
We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a king suite with huge whirlpool tub! Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We must agree our General Manager Reg is a very personable and loquacious individual . He fosters a positive environment that makes the entire staff strive to be the best in the area. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have stayed at this Hotel numerous times and it is by far the best kept secret in NE Ohio! Royce, Reba, and Adam (staff members) are accommodating and go above what is needed from a service standpoint. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone traveling through the Akron/Kent area. The rooms are always clean and the pool/workout area is nice as well. Definitely the place to stay in NE Ohio!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, we strive to make Holiday Inn Express at Kent State University , a great hotel experience for each and every one of our guests. We are so pleased to hear that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. We are happy to hear that our staff continues to provide the level of service you have come to expect from us. We are pleased to know that you find our rooms clean and comfortable. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future to Holiday Inn Express at Kent State University.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
2.8 mi away
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Kent
Comfort Inn Kent
#3 of 8 in Kent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
13.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Stow
Hampton Inn Stow
#1 of 4 in Stow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kent State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kent State University

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
Address: 1215 Sanctuary View Drive, Kent, OH 44240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kent State University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kent, Ohio is a 74 room and suites hotel, easily accessible of I-76 at exit 33. We are the smart choice when choosing a hotel in the Kent, Akron, Ravenna and Tallmadge areas.Rapidly rising in popularity of hotels in Northeast Ohio, this hotel is the most convenient location to the Kent State University Campus, Northeast Ohio College of Medicine (NEOUCOM), Summit Racing, Hess Print Solution, Goodyear Tire & Rubber, Bridgestone Invitational, and Lockheed Martin.Business travelers look to our hotel to provide them with more amenities than they could find elsewhere. We Feature an over sized fitness room, state-of-the-art aerobic equipment, with a view into our elongated indoor pool. Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel meets every guest s need. The Smart Start breakfast is always a hit, but we are told that the sweet tidbits and evening snacks served with a smiling face, take hospitality to an excellent level.Leisure travelers find our hotel convenient to the Kent Folk Festival, Portage County Fairgrounds, Summit County Fairgrounds, Soap Box Derby, Hartville Flee Market, NFL Hall of Fame, Ravenna Balloon-A-Thon, Firestone & other Ohio Golf Courses. Visit nearby Downtown Akron W/First Night, AA Founders Day & Akron U.We are one of the first hotels in Ohio to offer a 100% smoke free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kent State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University Hotel Kent
Holiday Inn Kent
Kent Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing