We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIE Kent, I look forward to it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“HIE Kent, I look forward to it.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I travel throughtout 15 states and a province of Canada spending about 120 nights at hotels, most of them are within the Express chain. HIE Kent State is by far my favorite of these. I actually look forward to my stays there. Dean, one of the most personable and conscientious employees I have come across, always greets me with a smile and my last name. The rooms are cleaner than most other HIE's, I have yet to find a stray hair or hidden wrapper in my rooms. The hotel is situated far enough away from the interstate to not hear traffic noise, but close enough that it is easy to find. Not to mention that it is in close proximity to a great mexican joint at the corner. There is no governor on the A/C which is a big plus. The breakfast isnt always the best (the lady cant seem to make sausage gravy) but it doesnt matter, the rest of the hotel experience is aces.

Room Tip: I havent had a bad room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    38
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
55
18
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place was really convenient to our location. Good food is close. The interstate is close. It is a Holiday Inn Express, and it is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. No surprises, good or bad. If you need to see what is going on outside, be sure to specify a room with a view. Check out the photos to see the view we had.

Room Tip: Some windows have no view - of anything. See photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadhore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, good price, great location. Cable TV had an extensive list of channels, including HGTV and Food Network. This was a one-night stopover on a long road trip, and I couldn't have asked for more in terms of amenities and service. Bed was very comfortable, and pillows come in "soft" and "firm" versions, with embroidered pillowcases telling you which is which. Very classy.

Just off the freeway, far enough away so you don't get the noise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana_in_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here for the night as was attending a sporting event at Kent St. Close to the college and the interstate. Hotel very clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was well, roomy but could hear a heavy walker on the floor above.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trixie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin Center, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

To be honest, I was not expecting much from an "Express" hotel. To my surprise, this hotel blew me away with its value for the price. I booked a standard double queen room, but walking in, the room did not seem "standard". It was very roomy and cozy, and most important; crisp and clean. The staff was phenomenal from check in to check out. Every person that I encountered on the staff was genuinely friendly and willing to help. The man at the desk at night delivered Disney-like service with my children and was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction of local activities. Kids loved the pool, and if the kids are happy, that makes everything worth while. All in all, this was a quality hotel with a crisp and friendly atmosphere. We will be back next year!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the west so the sun doesn't rise through the window in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaiah007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

A friend and I attended a 2-day workshop and Kent State and decided to stay nearer campus. The desk clerk was friendly--he even kept a couple of white chocolate cranberry cookies warm for us until we returned from dinner! The queen room was plenty spacious, very clean, and comfortable. I have never been able to sleep on my first night in any hotels, but I slept like a baby as soon as my head hit the pillow here. The mattress was firm but soft, if that makes sense, and the pillows were just like mine at home. I was worried about noise as we stayed in a first floor room, and there were some children staying, but there was no noise to speak of. Breakfast was wonderful, and included a wide range of hot and cold foods as well as fruit, juices and coffee. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Mom_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was really impressed with the level of service that I received while at this Holiday Inn Express. I have stayed at more upscale hotels and not been treated as well. The hotel was spotless and friendly, the breakfast great. I almost did not stay because of a couple of the pics and the reviews...you can't go by them, you must experience this hotel first hand. Thanks Holiday Inn Express Kent Ohio!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Kent
Comfort Inn Kent
#2 of 8 in Kent
290 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kent/Akron Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Stow
Hampton Inn Stow
#1 of 4 in Stow
443 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kent State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kent State University

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
Address: 1215 Sanctuary View Dr, Kent, OH 44240-8205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kent State University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kent, Ohio is a 74 room and suites hotel, easily accessible of I-76 at exit 33. We are the smart choice when choosing a hotel in the Kent, Akron, Ravenna and Tallmadge areas.Rapidly rising in popularity of hotels in Northeast Ohio, this hotel is the most convenient location to the Kent State University Campus, Northeast Ohio College of Medicine (NEOUCOM), Summit Racing, Hess Print Solution, Goodyear Tire & Rubber, Bridgestone Invitational, and Lockheed Martin.Business travelers look to our hotel to provide them with more amenities than they could find elsewhere. We Feature an over sized fitness room, state-of-the-art aerobic equipment, with a view into our elongated indoor pool. Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel meets every guest s need. The Smart Start breakfast is always a hit, but we are told that the sweet tidbits and evening snacks served with a smiling face, take hospitality to an excellent level.Leisure travelers find our hotel convenient to the Kent Folk Festival, Portage County Fairgrounds, Summit County Fairgrounds, Soap Box Derby, Hartville Flee Market, NFL Hall of Fame, Ravenna Balloon-A-Thon, Firestone & other Ohio Golf Courses. Visit nearby Downtown Akron W/First Night, AA Founders Day & Akron U.We are one of the first hotels in Ohio to offer a 100% smoke free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kent State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University Hotel Kent
Holiday Inn Kent
Kent Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing